Pork Fried Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The rice vinegar and soy sauce just make it perfect. I used ground pork in place of ham so I could combine this with my pork empanadas. I left out the vegetable oil since there's plenty of fat in the pork, then sauteed the pork into very fine pieces for about 10 minutes first. Then add an entire bunch of diced green onions and one medium red pepper and 6 cloves of garlic. After it's done I put half of it aside for the empanadas and add the quinoa to the other half in the pan. This gives a little more meat in the quinoa which is never bad. Next time I'll brown the garlic for just a minute to get more flavor from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lil' Punkin
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Awesome recipe! First time DH tried quinoa and he said it was better than rice. Used green and red bell pepper in the dish. I didn't see were the rice vinegar was used in the directions so I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have made loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coquille, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Added more veggies (red cabbage, peas, white onion, grated carrots) so doubled the sauce. Doubled the garlic and used about 2/3 of the cooked quinoa. Did the poached egg on top. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Yum!!! I'm trying new Quinoa recipes and this was my first one. FABULOUS! I didn't use the ham... but I could see how that would be yummy too! I could see chicken or SHRIMP in this and it would be even better! The chili-sauce and the rice vinegar is what makes it scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was good for what it is. I love quinoa and I love fried rice, but I don't feel like the texture of quinoa fit this recipe. With the left overs I heated and added an egg and sesame oil to make it different and I liked it that way better. I made this with the Szechwan Shrimp from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yum! Tasted very close to pork fried rice (I'm Chinese), but was thrilled it was a lot healthier than eating a ton of white rice! Used pineapple chicken sausage from Costco rather than ham, and an extra clove of garlic. I think next time I will add half of a regular chopped onion for extra crunch. Green onion is really better on top at the end. Rice vinegar was a nice touch and not something I would normally think to put in fried rice. Will keep making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fabulous! I had some leftover fresh pineapple that I threw in with it and must say it added a nice Hawaiian contrast but Im sure it would be delicious even without. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was scrumptious! We are now quinoa fans. The seasonings were wonderful. I never would have thought to add rice wine vinegar and we loved it. I didn't have ham or green onions, so I made it with red bell pepper, purple onions, and half a large jalapeno. Can't wait to try it again with the specified items. This is a keeper to make often. We can't eat rice or pasta. Hope quinoa works in a number of other recipes. Beef tips? Other stir fries? Thanks, Chef John, for your videos and fun humor. We'll be tryin' the dumplins next cold snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
everyone loved it, which is amazing in a house of 12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joezmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States