Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars because I only made the filling. I used the Goya discos and served them with homemade guacamole and homemade salsa and brown rice. The pork filling is excellent. I actually put the roast in a crock pot with all of the seasonings and onion and garlic. I'd like to try it with the actual empanada recipe, just didn't have time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
After reading another review I reduced the shortening to about 1/3 cup. I would NOT recommend reducing the shortening at all- the dough was difficult to work with and cracked easily. I thought the overall product turned out so-so, but my husband said it was one of the best meals he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Good; would like the filling a bit more flavorful, and the crust was dry (perhaps a high altitude issue). We will make them again with larger crusts and perhaps a bit of water added to the dough during mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I wanted to give this a five star rating but the filling was bland I made this as the recipe stated, tasted it half way through the cooking time, it was bland so I added more of the spices to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Not sure what I did wrong. It wasn't good and it was underbaked. I used only the dough recipe and I filled it with shreded cheese to accompany chicken tortilla soup(found on this web site) and I also did some "dessert" empanadas stuffed with strawberry jam. I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was good, but they were a little bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
We used this recipe just for the dough, but it was EXACTLY what we were looking for. My husband spent some time in Paraguay and he said these were very authentic tasting. We used to use the frozen empanada discs, but they are no longer carried near us. After trying this recipe, I'm not sure we ever will again, the dough tasted so much better! Thank you SO much, we're thrilled to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I didn't use this for empanadas, just to cook the pork. This was very good, rich, and I think it's a versatile recipe. I made wet burritos once and another time diced the pork instead and used it as a pasta sauce. I used extra onion, reduced the sauce, and used my immersion blender. The extra onion (well carmelized) once blended thickens the sauce without tasting like onions or needing flour, cornstarch, etc. My friends didn't know it was the same recipe used in a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very delicious! Worth the time to make it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicana_peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Excellent! Very yummy and easy to make. I made mine with cornmeal since I didn't have masa harina and they were great. These freeze beautifully, so make extras! You won't believe how yummy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States