Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Pretty good. I added 3 ancho chiles (dried/deseeded) to meat/water mixture, and after meat cooked and chiles soften, I took 2 cups of reserved juices and blended with chiles, this made a thicker sauce and alot of flavor. They were a hit at graduation party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.M. Nebraska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great empanadas shell recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe and actually really easy! I cooked my pork in the crock pot overnight and it still came out tasting really good. I also used cheese, corn, and green chiles without the pork to make a second batch. I agree with the other post regarding the dryness of the dough. I quick fry my empanadas instead of baking them, and they turn out moist and delicious ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I used a different meat filling, with ancho chillies. The crust is really good. My family prefered them cooked on top of the stove, using a comal,instead of baked. The masa gets a really nice toasted corn flavor. The dough rolls out really well also. I will make them again. I have tried so many wonderful recipes on this website. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I make these for Christmas Eve every year and people fight over them. I also make salsa and put extra in each one because they come out with a crisp crust and juicier inside.(similar to Fresh Salsa I, but always use a sweet onion, drain all the tomato cans and add 2 with diced chilis at the end and just stir so it is chunky) This year I am also doing half with 505 Green Chili instead - I am sure they will be DElicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddhaful Aud

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Excellent! Very yummy and easy to make. I made mine with cornmeal since I didn't have masa harina and they were great. These freeze beautifully, so make extras! You won't believe how yummy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Very delicious! Worth the time to make it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicana_peach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
We used this recipe just for the dough, but it was EXACTLY what we were looking for. My husband spent some time in Paraguay and he said these were very authentic tasting. We used to use the frozen empanada discs, but they are no longer carried near us. After trying this recipe, I'm not sure we ever will again, the dough tasted so much better! Thank you SO much, we're thrilled to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I had a pork roast that was intended for tamales, but changed my mind when I came across this recipe and it is an easy alternative to the tamale. Not a burrito, not a tamale. My spouse and I will put this one in our favorites for Mexican food night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Troy, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
A little dry but my kids attacked the meat before I could put in to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States