Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Thank you for providing a REAL empanada recipe to the mix, where most all of the others turn out to be empanada-filling recipes using pre-made pastry dough! My kids devoured these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Pretty good. I added 3 ancho chiles (dried/deseeded) to meat/water mixture, and after meat cooked and chiles soften, I took 2 cups of reserved juices and blended with chiles, this made a thicker sauce and alot of flavor. They were a hit at graduation party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.M. Nebraska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
it was a good recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
DH devoured these. I have much more respect for people who willilingly prepare things like this on a regular basis. =) This recipe did prompt me to go buy those rings that go on your rolling pin to get the dough thickness accurate and a pastry mat with the circles. Next time I'll probably double the pastry dough recipe since I got 16 balls that ended up much too thin and tended to tear when the empanadas were shaped. DH also wants to try them with the meat filling from the Puerto Rican Meat Patties recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was good, but I would have prefered the filling for the meat portion to be a little...juicier? Still, excellent flavor, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I used a different meat filling, with ancho chillies. The crust is really good. My family prefered them cooked on top of the stove, using a comal,instead of baked. The masa gets a really nice toasted corn flavor. The dough rolls out really well also. I will make them again. I have tried so many wonderful recipes on this website. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
These were good. All three of my kids liked them, which is close to miraculous. They were very handy to keep in the freezer and reheat during the busy week. They were, however, very dry. I tried doubling the salsa..but still found them to be rather dry. I will make them again, but next time I'll brown the roast and cook it in a crock pot. I also doubled the dough ingredients and made the balls a little bigger. That way, when I rolled them out to about 4", I could trim the edges before rolling them the rest of the way. This helped keep them from tearing and made nice even circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These empanadas were a big hit with my husbands family. But I agree they are somewhat dry. Make sure you have sour cream and salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Was okay. A little bland. The dough was a little dry when fixed exactly according to directions. Next time, will make sure that the dough is more moist and will add more flavorings into the filling. Oh, and I used pork chops instead of a pork butt. Still, my kids liked them. They're very easy to handle without utensils and will be great on the go (think "Hot Pockets"). Thanks for sharing this recipe. Will let you know how they turn out the next time I make them and any adjustments I'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I am not a big empanandas fan, but I do love using the recipe for pulled pork and using it for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States