Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was really good, despite the amount of the lard in there, we ended up cutting that almost down to nothing to make it healthier and the taste didn't seem to be any different. Had a little difficulty finding the masa harina until I eventually went to a specialty foods store and picked this up, these probably aren't the same without it! Thanks for sharing, Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These were delicious, but to save time, instead of making the pastry part, Goya makes empanada discos in pkgs of 10 in most grocers freezers. This saves lots of time. You can make the filling ahead of time, then thaw the discos and right in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I make these for Christmas Eve every year and people fight over them. I also make salsa and put extra in each one because they come out with a crisp crust and juicier inside.(similar to Fresh Salsa I, but always use a sweet onion, drain all the tomato cans and add 2 with diced chilis at the end and just stir so it is chunky) This year I am also doing half with 505 Green Chili instead - I am sure they will be DElicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buddhaful Aud

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I am not a big empanandas fan, but I do love using the recipe for pulled pork and using it for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Was okay. A little bland. The dough was a little dry when fixed exactly according to directions. Next time, will make sure that the dough is more moist and will add more flavorings into the filling. Oh, and I used pork chops instead of a pork butt. Still, my kids liked them. They're very easy to handle without utensils and will be great on the go (think "Hot Pockets"). Thanks for sharing this recipe. Will let you know how they turn out the next time I make them and any adjustments I'll make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These empanadas were a big hit with my husbands family. But I agree they are somewhat dry. Make sure you have sour cream and salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
These were good. All three of my kids liked them, which is close to miraculous. They were very handy to keep in the freezer and reheat during the busy week. They were, however, very dry. I tried doubling the salsa..but still found them to be rather dry. I will make them again, but next time I'll brown the roast and cook it in a crock pot. I also doubled the dough ingredients and made the balls a little bigger. That way, when I rolled them out to about 4", I could trim the edges before rolling them the rest of the way. This helped keep them from tearing and made nice even circles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I used a different meat filling, with ancho chillies. The crust is really good. My family prefered them cooked on top of the stove, using a comal,instead of baked. The masa gets a really nice toasted corn flavor. The dough rolls out really well also. I will make them again. I have tried so many wonderful recipes on this website. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was good, but I would have prefered the filling for the meat portion to be a little...juicier? Still, excellent flavor, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
DH devoured these. I have much more respect for people who willilingly prepare things like this on a regular basis. =) This recipe did prompt me to go buy those rings that go on your rolling pin to get the dough thickness accurate and a pastry mat with the circles. Next time I'll probably double the pastry dough recipe since I got 16 balls that ended up much too thin and tended to tear when the empanadas were shaped. DH also wants to try them with the meat filling from the Puerto Rican Meat Patties recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States