Pork Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These were delicious, but to save time, instead of making the pastry part, Goya makes empanada discos in pkgs of 10 in most grocers freezers. This saves lots of time. You can make the filling ahead of time, then thaw the discos and right in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
DH devoured these. I have much more respect for people who willilingly prepare things like this on a regular basis. =) This recipe did prompt me to go buy those rings that go on your rolling pin to get the dough thickness accurate and a pastry mat with the circles. Next time I'll probably double the pastry dough recipe since I got 16 balls that ended up much too thin and tended to tear when the empanadas were shaped. DH also wants to try them with the meat filling from the Puerto Rican Meat Patties recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Pretty good. I added 3 ancho chiles (dried/deseeded) to meat/water mixture, and after meat cooked and chiles soften, I took 2 cups of reserved juices and blended with chiles, this made a thicker sauce and alot of flavor. They were a hit at graduation party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.M. Nebraska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Thank you for providing a REAL empanada recipe to the mix, where most all of the others turn out to be empanada-filling recipes using pre-made pastry dough! My kids devoured these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Excellent! Very yummy and easy to make. I made mine with cornmeal since I didn't have masa harina and they were great. These freeze beautifully, so make extras! You won't believe how yummy they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I used a different meat filling, with ancho chillies. The crust is really good. My family prefered them cooked on top of the stove, using a comal,instead of baked. The masa gets a really nice toasted corn flavor. The dough rolls out really well also. I will make them again. I have tried so many wonderful recipes on this website. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was good, but I would have prefered the filling for the meat portion to be a little...juicier? Still, excellent flavor, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was really good, despite the amount of the lard in there, we ended up cutting that almost down to nothing to make it healthier and the taste didn't seem to be any different. Had a little difficulty finding the masa harina until I eventually went to a specialty foods store and picked this up, these probably aren't the same without it! Thanks for sharing, Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I am not a big empanandas fan, but I do love using the recipe for pulled pork and using it for tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These empanadas were a big hit with my husbands family. But I agree they are somewhat dry. Make sure you have sour cream and salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States