Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
YUM! I scaled down to 1lb of pork, used 2 Tbsp of ginger per others, kept 1 egg, and used 2 large handfuls of shredded cole slaw. Perfect! I was able to finish off an entire package of wonton wrappers which I then cooked per the "Pot Stickers Traditional" recipe.. pan fry for 3 min, then steam in 3/4 cup of water for about 8 minutes. So amazing! You do NOT need to pre-cook the pork... the fry/steam will do the work for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Pierce
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
These were fantastic! The only changes I made to the recipe was to use bagged shredded cabbage instead of chopping my own. Also, I cooked them in a pan over medium low heat. After about 2 minutes on each side, I poured in a bit of water and put a lid over it so they could steam the rest of the way. It was much faster than steaming in my electric steamer! I served it with Kikkoman Ponzu sauce. They were spectacular! Even my picky husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. It's the perfect filling for dumplings. There's a few things I've learned technique-wise that make these easier. First of all, forming the dumplings can be a little challenging, but I searched around online and found some good tutorials. Also when you go to steam these, spray the bamboo steamer liberally with vegatable oil spray or line with lettuce leaves to prevent them from sticking. Also, I used regular cabbage, but I suppose this would work for whatever type you use, if you can salt the cabbage and draw out the water before fixing the filling, the dumplings will cook better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
My dumplings turned out very good! For those who think it may be bland, remember, in our society, we're used to Asian inspired foods that have extremely unhealthy levels of sodium . . . I suggest adding more ginger and onion to it. I also took some of the filling, added more onion and cabbage to it, "browned" it in a sauce pan with a tad more oil and soy sauce, and then just added several cups of water to let it cook as a mild broth for the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Sooooo good. My only tip is to cut this recipe in half if you're not having a huge party. I used an entire package of wonton wrappers and had so much filling left over. I'm going to go back and buy some more wrappers and make the rest to freeze, though. These were delicious and tasted like the real thing from a Japanese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlburns1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
loved these..I didnt have green onion so used finely minced yellow onion..thought that the sesame oil was a bit much so I used 2 tbs...2 eggs..abit more soy sauce..and used slaw cabage for convenience..family likes them more than restaurant dumpling yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
These were super tasty. They were out of won-ton skins so I used egg roll skins cut into fourths. It made them a little thicker, but definitely worked and tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I did not add any cabbage since I like the dumplings at Chinese restaurants with just meat in them. I place 9 to 12 wonton wrappers on a flexible plastic cutting board and use a stainless steel oil sprayer filled with water to mist each wonton lightly two times each. Then I place the filling on all the wontons at the same time, and then fold them over into a rectangle shape and press down the seams. I then mist each folded wonton once and give them 3 pleats each before I place them on wax paper. Every so often I mist the wontons I have already made so they do not dry out until I have the tray filled. I found my assembly line using the sprayer cut down on my time tremendously and my fingers stay much cleaner. I also use a nonstick pan and just spray the dumplings generously with cooking spray. I spray the first side before they go in the pan, and then spray the second side once they are in the pan. I then fry both sides until nicely brown and then steam 1/2 cup of water off (with the lid on) for about 10 min the way someone else's review suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Very good recipe! Very time consuming, but worth it in the end! My whole family loved them. Also when looking for the wrappers, try finding the larger ones. It took me 4 hours to wrap 100 small dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States