Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Really tasty! Next time I'll triple the recipe and invite some friends over to help assemble them. They freeze well so we can all share the dumplings to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I wasn't that big of a fan. Hubby loved them more than store-bought though. Lot of work when steaming, so give yourself enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These are delicious! I did not have sesame oil, so i just used a little olive oil. Instead of folding them in triangles, i find it a little tricky to keem them closed, i shaped them into little squares as well as little pouches by sinching up the 4 corners. Very tasty served with a peanut satay sauce (which has sesame oil in it). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These tasted great! While easy, they were time consuming. Next time I will probably make them all the day before. I pan fried and then steamed with water in the skillet. Next time I will try boiling in salted water. Very authentic and my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
time consuming, but worth it. i steamed mine by skipping the cooking oil and putting the broth into my electric wok, covered. they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
used a 2 cups cabbage and 2 cups bok choy, added the Chines 5 spice from this site and a tsp of sugar. This makes a large batch. I steamed them all, the longer the meat mixture sat the better they tasted. So I would mix the filling and leave 2-4 hours, then make the dumplings. We can't stop eating these, sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe is amazing!!! My husband said they tasted very authentic! I halved the recipe and it made 49 dumplings. I love the idea of pan frying them and then adding chicken broth to the pan, covering and steaming for 15 minutes, worked great. Perfectly seasoned garlicky dumplings. My husband is finishing the rest off right now and says they're oddly addictive! I also made a dipping sauce with soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and green onions as others have suggested. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yum! Took a bit of practice but... definitely a winner. After a few tries/youtube videos I made the following changes. 1. dont use square.. makes too much extra dough, was gross. I took stacks of the goza wrappers cut off the corners to make rough circles, and then would make pleats on one side- more filling fit in, and better filling to dough ratio. 2. I boiled the first batch, not worth it. Spread sesame oil lightly on a pan over med heat, placed a batch of dumplings in the pan and then pour a scant cup of noiling water over them to cover them half way. cover the pan and steam the dumplings until the water is evaporated (about five or six min). Whena ll the water is gone, drip a little sesame oil in between the rows of dumplings to crisp up the edges and remove from pan after a minute or two when the bottoms are browned and crispy. PERFECT! I used spinach instead of cabbage, and doubled the ginger and used six cloves of garlic. Sauce was a few tbs of soy sauce plus rice vinegar plus a tiny bit of sesame oil. SO good. Just took a while....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These are definitely tasty! I added 2 more cloves of garlic and another egg. I thought that 15 minutes was too long to steam and found that 10 minutes was perfect. You can't layer these on top of each other to cook as they stick. We served it with white rice. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cecil, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States