Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
these were wonderful!!! we did them steamed and fried - we preferred the steamed but both worked well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
wonderful! outstanding! These are the best dumplings I have ever had in my life. I would eat them everyday if I knew that I would eventually get sick of these. They are awesome!! we used bok choy for the chinese lettuce and they were delicous. we will deffinatly make again. We made them for the Chinese New Year. we dipped it in 1 tb hoisin, 1 ts miran and 1 ts soy sauce. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
What a fantastic recipe! I folded the wonton like a crab rangoon wrapper and fried it like a potsticker instead of steaming. I also substituted regular cabbage and peanut oil. Serve dipped in Hoisin sause and it is very tasty! If you run out of wrappers, stir fry the remaining pork and serve over lo mein noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
These are amazingly good! I used ground turkey because my sister was visiting and she doesn't eat pork. While still very good, ground turkey will leave a little bit of "turkey" aftertaste, so I can't wait to try them with pork! I used a bag of angel hair coleslaw mix for a cabbage short-cut and that worked very well. We boiled our dumplings in salted water for five minutes and they were fabulous--didn't need to be fried at all! (A Chinese friend of ours from Beijing introduced us to this low-fat alternative!) For a dipping sauce we used 2 T. soy sauce, 1/2 t. vinegar (rice vinegar is best but all I had was white vinegar) and a drop of sesame oil. After boiling all the dumplings we added sliced green onions to the water and served it as a light broth soup alongside the dumplings (also traditionally Chinese). Four of us easily ate all of the dumplings as the main dish. An amazing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I liked these a lot. I had trouble freezing them to use later. They all stuck together and cooked up as one big blob. We used a citrus flavored soy sauce for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe is AMAZING! My fiance and I spent an afternoon making these and we even doubled the recipe. We made half with ground pork and half with ground turkey and they both taste equally as good! We only steam about a dozen at a time and the rest we keep frozen for another night! This one will definitely stay in the recipe box!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
These were so unbelievably good, I really couldn't believe I'd made them myself. Like another reviewer, I fried them in a little bit of oil (peanut), but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Outstanding! Thanks so much, Lorna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I used ground turkey and made this recipe with half the amount called for. I doubled the garlic, ginger, and green onion. I ended up with 30 dumplings. I fried/steamed 10 and steamed the rest in the metal basket with PAM. The steamed ones came out so much better than the fried/steamed and they were so amazing. Great flavor and texture. Delicious with hoisin sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
These were the absolute best dumplings I've ever tasted...so flavorful! I followed the recipe exactly except for the steaming. I used a shallow pan half full of water and cooked them at a simmer for about 5-7 min. This worked really well. I also froze the leftovers as it made way too many for my husband and I..then I just thawed them in the fridge and the tasted as good as when they where fresh cooked! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lashburn, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe. The only thing I changed was how to cook them - I cooked them in a frying pan, with a bit of olive oil. There's definately an art to the steaming process, which I'm no good at, so I just browned them in the oil and they were great! What to do differently next time: chop and mix ingredients WELL before dinner time, even the day before, just omitt the cabbage until ready to cook so it doesn't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCRO72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Helena, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States