Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
these were good...but i have had better ones...on other reviews i read people were having problems with there dumpling sticking...to fix that lay down cabbage or lettuce first and then put ur dumplings on top of that it wont change the flavor...also i used lean ground pork...and my pork shrunk...and it seemed a little dry so next time i am gonna use regular ground pork and then maybe they will taste as good as the chinese food place
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Not bad. I scaled down the recipe and used ground beef instead of pork. I also bought egg roll wrappers and cut them into fourths because it was cheaper than buying the real wonton wrappers, even though they're made out of exactly the same thing. The flavor is not exactly like restaurant dumplings or the frozen ones you buy at the Asian store, which I'm trying to duplicate, but these are still good. To freeze them, I followed another reviewer's advice and put the dumplings on wax paper on a cookie sheet, not touching, and froze them until solid, then threw them in a ziploc bag. The wax paper helps, because in the past I have had problems with them sticking to the tray or plastic wrap, but with the wax paper I had no trouble at all peeling them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe, changed nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I really loved this dish!! I have never made anything like it...fun! Quite time consuming (wrapping the wontons), but worth it!! I froze most of them on a cookie sheet and then bagged them, so that I can pull them out as an appetizer any time! My husband asked me to deep fry them next time, but I think I would like it either way. They were a hit at my Asian food themed party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarterCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Excellent. I made with ground chicken instead of pork but that was the only thing I changed for the filling. I browned first on one side and steamed using chicken broth. They were great. I made a really good soy-based dipping sauce. These were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Excellent! The filling tastes exactly like the ones we get at our favorite Chinese food restaurant; in fact my husband liked them better. I made a dipping suace with soy sauce, white sugar, rice wine vinegar, fresh grated ginger and chopped scallions. Yummy! They are not difficult at all, just a bit of time to put together 100+ of these yummy dumplings. Next time I think I'll halve the recipe. I couldn't find Chinese cabbage, so I used the leafy green part of Bok Choy. I like pan fried for the crispy, but I steamed first for 20 min. because I was afraid just pan frying the skins would be burned before the pork got cooked. I froze a batch after steaming, then the next day thawed and pan fried. Perfect. The rest of the batch I froze without cooking first, so we'll see how they turn out. Great recipe. Thanks! Update: the ones I froze uncooked came out great too. I steamed for 10 mins. and then a quick pan fry with peanut oil. I cut down the steam time (first round I was afraid of undercooking pork) and they were perfectly cooked, and the pork didn't shrink as much. We made a meal out of them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
fantastic!! my son wanted to try chinese dumplings and i was please to find this one so easy and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
nice and easy recipe,i loved it and so did my kids.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I added carrots with the cabbage, but it was amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe, but I cant say that i wont try others before I pick my keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States