Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Excellent! The filling tastes exactly like the ones we get at our favorite Chinese food restaurant; in fact my husband liked them better. I made a dipping suace with soy sauce, white sugar, rice wine vinegar, fresh grated ginger and chopped scallions. Yummy! They are not difficult at all, just a bit of time to put together 100+ of these yummy dumplings. Next time I think I'll halve the recipe. I couldn't find Chinese cabbage, so I used the leafy green part of Bok Choy. I like pan fried for the crispy, but I steamed first for 20 min. because I was afraid just pan frying the skins would be burned before the pork got cooked. I froze a batch after steaming, then the next day thawed and pan fried. Perfect. The rest of the batch I froze without cooking first, so we'll see how they turn out. Great recipe. Thanks! Update: the ones I froze uncooked came out great too. I steamed for 10 mins. and then a quick pan fry with peanut oil. I cut down the steam time (first round I was afraid of undercooking pork) and they were perfectly cooked, and the pork didn't shrink as much. We made a meal out of them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
fantastic!! my son wanted to try chinese dumplings and i was please to find this one so easy and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
nice and easy recipe,i loved it and so did my kids.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I added carrots with the cabbage, but it was amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe, but I cant say that i wont try others before I pick my keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Very easy to make. I didn't think they had much flavor so I added extra soy sauce and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Yummy, but so ugly I could not bear to serve them as is! Served them as soup with beef broth and more chopped green onion. I was glad I did that, as the broth also added some much-needed flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I have made it several time and without doubts its better than our local Japanese/Chinese restaurant. I cooked them in a Chinese bamboo steamer. Then, I sauteed them in olive oil just to make them crispy. Its time consuming but its worthwhile. For the dipping sauce, I prepare 1/2 cup of soy sauce, a few drops of sesame oil, a drop of rice wine vinegar and add a few spring onions well chopped as well as sesame seeds. Its fantastic! This recipe is my No 1 when it comes to dinner parties or company. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
My husband and I thought that these were quite good even though we are not big dumpling fans. Now if I can just find the perfect dipping sauce for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tetekristen
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Ohh man! I love love loved these Dumplings. The kinda taste like the ones from one of my favorite Japanes restaurant, Ichi Ban! So yummy, I'm so making them for my sister's birthday party! I used seasame oil and soy sauce for my dipping sauce! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tolleson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States