Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
PLAN on at least ONE HOUR for prep time! THese were wonderful, but they took FAR longer to prep than I expected. I'm glad I have 40+ in the freezer for another time...my husband REALLY liked them. He was my biggest skeptic...plus he was the one watching the kids while I putzed around in the kitchen for 2 hours! Crazy, but good, and worth the effort. :) Update: The second time around these turned out SO well, I thought I would post what I did as a reminder to mySELF what worked for me. :) I pulsed the cabbage to a pulp in my food processor, squeezed out the excess liquid, then added the remaining ingredients. I also replaced the egg with 2 Tablespoons cornstarch for a better texture, imo. AND, i cut back on the sesame oil to about a tsp. due to my husbands' distaste for it. Fried them in a stainless steel pan in a little bit of palm oil shortening (they did NOT stick) to a deep golden brown, then added about 1/2-3/4 cup chicken stock, covered and let steam until most of the liquid evaporated. I took off the cover to let the remaining liquid evaporate. These were INCREDIBLE. So, so good. I must try them with ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are fabulous..my house smelled like a Chinese restaurant. Yum, Yum, Yum..Filling does make a lot, I froze some filling to use later. You won't want to waste any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These are over the top. It was my first time making dumplings and I've made them at least 10 times since then. I followed the advise of other reviewers and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt for every cup of cabbage to draw out the moisture. I let sit for 15 minutes than squezzed all of the water out of the cabbage. I omitted the egg as others suggested it wasn't necessary (it held together nicely). When cooking - first I placed a bit of oil in a non stick skillet. I place the dumpling in and cooked on medium heat until lightly browned. I added 1/4 cup water & covered skillet. Cooked for 7-8 minutes until water evaporated. (Optional- Removed top and let crisp up again.) Served with dipping sauce recommended by LeAnne from this site. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is awesome as is. However, I like garlic and green onions so the second time I made it I tripled the green onion and the garlic and I and those I served it to thought it was even better. Also, I tried, as others suggested frying them a little before steaming them and they were good, but I don't think the extra step in necesarry. I used a variation of the sauce another reviewer recommended - 2 TBSP Soy, 2 TBSP Rice Wine Vinegar, 1 TBSP Sunflower Oil and a couple of scallions sliced up. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These were great! I couldn't find Chinese cabbage so I used regular green cabbage and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
WOW! If I could rate this a 10* I would. This turned out VERY good. My hubby said it is restaurant quality. I used Fresh Express coleslaw mix with green and red cabbage with carrots - shredded. It worked perfect. Also, I boiled the dumplings for about 5 minutes instead of steaming. Was amazing!! I dipped in oriental dipping sauce also found of this site. I mean PERFECT! I served with the Peanut butter noodles from this site too. This could not of been a better meal!!! TIP: for your leftovers just put in plastic container...they will stick together when cooled but the next day just cover the dumplings in hot tap water for a couple of minutes and they will seperate. EDIT: I have made these many of times as our family LOVES this recipe...I tried to boil them and then fry them to make them "pot sickers" and that did NOT work at all...I even tried to fry them before boiling and that did not work either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very Good! I halved the entire recipe (using 1 lb pork and 1 head of bak choy). Served it with a dipping sauce I got off this site: 2 TBSP rice wine, 2 TBSP soy sauce, 1/2 tsp sesame oil, and 1 tsp minced green onion. Instead of steaming, I followed another recipe which called to heat 3 TBSP veg oil in a deep skillet, add pot stickers seam side up and fry 30 seconds, then pour 3/4 cup water on top. Gently boil 7 to 8 minutes (until water almost evaporates) then add another 2 TBSP oil. Cook until lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
this was definitely time consuming for me. ( i am a beginner though and i made my own wrapper taking up most of the time) but it was worth every second i didn't have any pork and used beef instead and they were still wonderful every one who tried them loved it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was time consuming, but worth it. I ended up using two wrappers for each dumpling, because as try as I might, I could not get it to work folding just one. They kept falling apart or ripping. I was even using a teaspoon to apply the filling and it was still too much. That said, it all worked out for the best. They were yummy and very easy to make. I first fried for a few moments to brown and then added water to the pan to steam-cook them the rest of the way. We gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I had a group of friends over last night and these were a huge "HIT"! I used gyoza skins because I really like their texture. Other than that, all the ingredients remained the same. They were easy to make the night before. I went through all the steps and then froze them as another reviewer recommended. To cook: I put them in a really large pot of water and let them cook for about 3 to 5 minutes after they floated. Served with the dipping sauce recipe also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States