Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yum, these were delicious and easy to make. I added cilantro and shitake mushrooms just to add more flavor. I used lean ground pork and they were moist and perfect. I steamed them in a bamboo steamer, which worked so well and made it super easy. I froze the extra dumplings and when I steamed them frozen they came out equally as perfect. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
VERY AUTHENTIC!!! I've been eating these since I was five. My chinese baby sitter cooked these and we loved them!! The only difference was she added some rice wine vinegar to the soy sauce used for dipping! Make sure to use cooking spray on the bottom so the dumplings don't stick. I used half of this recipe and it was plenty for four adults. I also used less cabbage, more soy sauce, and less sesame oil due to my individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Wonderful! I don't eat pork, so I replace it with ground chicken. This recipe makes SO much filling. I buy extra wrappers, construct, and freeze the rest. I have also made "chinese meatballs" out of the extra filling and served as a chicken lo mein. Update:still love these things...and eat with pork now. Reduced recipe by half, still made enough to freeze. Cheated and used prepacked coleslaw mix so I didn't have to mess with chopping cabbage (such a pain!) also still used the whole egg. Used my measuring teaspoon to fill wrappers. Perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I make these only I use crushed(ground) shrimp to the mixture. Gives a little seafood taste without the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebler78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
The dumplings were good, but not good enough that it made up for the hours I spent making them and the days my kitchen stunk like cabbage. I thought the taste of cabbage was too strong and would recommend decreasing the amount. Still, it would be ok for someone who enjoys cooking and has hours to kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
PLAN on at least ONE HOUR for prep time! THese were wonderful, but they took FAR longer to prep than I expected. I'm glad I have 40+ in the freezer for another time...my husband REALLY liked them. He was my biggest skeptic...plus he was the one watching the kids while I putzed around in the kitchen for 2 hours! Crazy, but good, and worth the effort. :) Update: The second time around these turned out SO well, I thought I would post what I did as a reminder to mySELF what worked for me. :) I pulsed the cabbage to a pulp in my food processor, squeezed out the excess liquid, then added the remaining ingredients. I also replaced the egg with 2 Tablespoons cornstarch for a better texture, imo. AND, i cut back on the sesame oil to about a tsp. due to my husbands' distaste for it. Fried them in a stainless steel pan in a little bit of palm oil shortening (they did NOT stick) to a deep golden brown, then added about 1/2-3/4 cup chicken stock, covered and let steam until most of the liquid evaporated. I took off the cover to let the remaining liquid evaporate. These were INCREDIBLE. So, so good. I must try them with ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These are fabulous..my house smelled like a Chinese restaurant. Yum, Yum, Yum..Filling does make a lot, I froze some filling to use later. You won't want to waste any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These are over the top. It was my first time making dumplings and I've made them at least 10 times since then. I followed the advise of other reviewers and added 1/2 teaspoon of salt for every cup of cabbage to draw out the moisture. I let sit for 15 minutes than squezzed all of the water out of the cabbage. I omitted the egg as others suggested it wasn't necessary (it held together nicely). When cooking - first I placed a bit of oil in a non stick skillet. I place the dumpling in and cooked on medium heat until lightly browned. I added 1/4 cup water & covered skillet. Cooked for 7-8 minutes until water evaporated. (Optional- Removed top and let crisp up again.) Served with dipping sauce recommended by LeAnne from this site. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is awesome as is. However, I like garlic and green onions so the second time I made it I tripled the green onion and the garlic and I and those I served it to thought it was even better. Also, I tried, as others suggested frying them a little before steaming them and they were good, but I don't think the extra step in necesarry. I used a variation of the sauce another reviewer recommended - 2 TBSP Soy, 2 TBSP Rice Wine Vinegar, 1 TBSP Sunflower Oil and a couple of scallions sliced up. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These were great! I couldn't find Chinese cabbage so I used regular green cabbage and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States