Pork Chops with a Riesling Peach Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Please try this recipe as written. It's an entree, not a dessert! It's a great recipe for the summer when peaches are ripe. I wanted to serve some of the sauce over rice, and it didn't make all that much, so I would double the amount if I made it again. If you reduce the wine as the directions state, the sauce should be thick enough without adding cornstarch. This dish goes together quickly, and it would be an easy yet elegant dish for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I chose to modify this where I grilled it. This was bursting with flavour! I think it's imperative to use a quality Riesling wine. The only other change I made was to marinate the pork chops, and I added 1 Tablespoon of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was EXCELLENT! I only had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Wow! My family chowed down on this! I made it with a pork tenderloin roast in the crock pot and cooked it on low for almost 8 hours. I just put everything in the crock at the same time and let it go. I added ginger and more nutmeg since my family likes those flavors. The pork had a delicious flavor and when I turned the juices into a thin gravy over rice ... it was amazing! I cannot wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbywbob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I also used wine I had on hand and used sliced, canned peaches. I agree that the "sauce" is not very thick, but the flavor was wonderful. When I make this again, I will tweak it, perhaps thickening with cornstarch, but not much. Also, I don't think flavoring the chops in the first stages is necessary as the sauce had enough flavor for us. I served with biscuits and a simple veggie. Glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I absolutely loved this dish. This recipe is great for a beginner cook or if you are afraid to mingle with seasonings and spice. I definitely played around with the chops and seasoned to my likings and added ginger. As far as the sauce is concerned, I would not mix it with the tidbits from the pork. This causes the sauce to become salty. I would use a fresh pan and go from there. I used a cp of brown sugar instead of tbsp. And then let it caramel into a thick sauce.Peeled the peaches and diced. The leftover sauce can be used in the morning over frozen or fresh waffles. Of course salt and pepper is going to be bland on anything esp. pork chops. Like all recipes sometimes they have to be tweaked. TRY IT! you just might be surprised!!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Gomez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
With another reviwer's suggestions, this turned out great! I used whole, canned peaches as they're not in season here yet. Diced and added the peaches near the end of cooking the sauce. In addition to the salt and pepper on the chops I used ginger. This didn't come through much, maybe I will use fresh, grated ginger rubbed onto the pork next time. Also, I think ground cloves and/or allspice would add depth to this dish. As for the wine I just used the white wine I had in the house. Very simple and bursting with flavour! Definitely going to make this again when peaches are in season for an even fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe with a couple of changes. I used a pork tenderloin, and added a sliced apple to the peaches then followed this recipe. I also finished the tenderloin on the BBQ weapped in foil. (great for summer and not heating up the kitchen).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
A few changes. We used organic bone-in chops. I rubbed pressed garlic on chops and sprinkled with cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and S&P, as suggested. Tasted perfectly! I did keep the yummy brown bits and used the same same pan. I also bumped up the brown sugar to a cup. I didn't measure the spices in the sauce, just went by taste. Boyfriend loved it and said to keep recipe; though it would be good over ice cream too! Liked something different than than my normal apples & chops recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Delish! Love the spicy-sweet peaches in wine. I followed the recipe but next time I would double the amount of sauce. I served the pork (boneless country ribs that where on sale) with brown rice and made a quick tangy vinegar cole slaw as a cold side dish. This made for a wonderful balance of sweet and tart which complimented the entire dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States