Pork Chops with Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe I use - only additions are I add a small mashed clove of garlic, a cup of chicken stock and finely sliced onions and peppers to sauce before adding roux. It is amazing - my husband is the pickiest eater ever and not only does he not suspect anchovies - he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimviesta

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Outstanding. I love vinegar, but even my husband (who does not like it as much as me because he had to clean with it as a child!) loved this dish. The vinegar is not too overpowering - just very mellow. The anchovy roux is delicious - and I've never considered myself a fan of them. I was really surprised by how much we liked this dish. Can't say enough about it. A must try for everyone who comes across it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Loved this dish! I'm a huge vinegar fan, so i tried this receipe as soon as i found it. So glad I did! Simple to prepare & delicious. The pork was tender & so flavorful. Loved the vinegar/anchovy combination. Doubled the sauce and sprinkled the tiniest bit of sugar in it at the end. Other than that, wouldn't change a thing. Reminder - this is a white wine vinegar sauce (not sweet like a balsamic sauce), so a little goes a long way. You might want to serve it on the side. Thanks so much for posting :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
good recipe! i used pork steaks and balsamic vinegar since its what i had. were really easy and simple to make. i served these with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The flavor was not that good and my chops came out dry; I'm wondering if it could have been because my chops were thicker than 1/4". I also used anchovy paste but I couldn't really taste it; the vinegar overpowered it. I will keep attempting to get nice succulent pork chop but I don't plan to make this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Amazing flavor for such a simple recipe. I used anchovy paste instead of the filets and butter and still got amazing results. This one will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Love this dish! It has the 'tang' of pork chops and sauerkraut (which I LOVE) but gives me something different to make with the same basic flavor. I made one change...I used capers instead of anchovies...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I guess I don't care for tangy gravy-sauces. I like vinegar, but not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The flavor seemed a little bland to me. Next time I think I will try adding a few spices to it to suit my taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States