Pork Chops with Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Loved this dish! I'm a huge vinegar fan, so i tried this receipe as soon as i found it. So glad I did! Simple to prepare & delicious. The pork was tender & so flavorful. Loved the vinegar/anchovy combination. Doubled the sauce and sprinkled the tiniest bit of sugar in it at the end. Other than that, wouldn't change a thing. Reminder - this is a white wine vinegar sauce (not sweet like a balsamic sauce), so a little goes a long way. You might want to serve it on the side. Thanks so much for posting :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Outstanding. I love vinegar, but even my husband (who does not like it as much as me because he had to clean with it as a child!) loved this dish. The vinegar is not too overpowering - just very mellow. The anchovy roux is delicious - and I've never considered myself a fan of them. I was really surprised by how much we liked this dish. Can't say enough about it. A must try for everyone who comes across it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is very similar to a recipe I use - only additions are I add a small mashed clove of garlic, a cup of chicken stock and finely sliced onions and peppers to sauce before adding roux. It is amazing - my husband is the pickiest eater ever and not only does he not suspect anchovies - he loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimviesta

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Amazing flavor for such a simple recipe. I used anchovy paste instead of the filets and butter and still got amazing results. This one will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
good recipe! i used pork steaks and balsamic vinegar since its what i had. were really easy and simple to make. i served these with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Love this dish! It has the 'tang' of pork chops and sauerkraut (which I LOVE) but gives me something different to make with the same basic flavor. I made one change...I used capers instead of anchovies...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
The flavor was not that good and my chops came out dry; I'm wondering if it could have been because my chops were thicker than 1/4". I also used anchovy paste but I couldn't really taste it; the vinegar overpowered it. I will keep attempting to get nice succulent pork chop but I don't plan to make this recipe again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I guess I don't care for tangy gravy-sauces. I like vinegar, but not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The flavor seemed a little bland to me. Next time I think I will try adding a few spices to it to suit my taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States