Pork Chops with Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I just made this dish and I followed one of the other reviews by browning the chops first, then I sauteed the onions, mushrooms and added garlic. I did continue to use the stewed tomatoes and bake the dish for about 40 minutes. The dish was so tender and tasteful.My daughter who is always on a diet went for more. The sauce over rice was really good. You must cover the dish with foil to keep the chops tender. I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Nope. I am sorry to say this recipe needs help. Lots of it. The 90 minute cooking time essentially boiled the chops to death. We tossed it all in the trash.Maybe cutting the cooking time down would help but, somehow, I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This was not very good. Pork chops were very tough as they virtually boil in the liquid (and I bought very GOOD quality chops from the butcher). Ingredients do not add desirable or complimentary flavors to pork. I wouldn't recommend this recipe, or make it again. Edible, but that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is an excellent recipe IF you use a cut like pork steaks or bone-in pork chops AND lower the oven temp to between 275 and 325. These benefit from the long cook time on a low setting. However, a high quality cut like boneless pork loin chops will only get overdone and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
The recipe isn't bad, but needs some changes. It's better to brown the chops in a fry pan. Add the onion while browning. Then put it into a baking pan if you really want to bake them, but there's no need. Just add the remaining ingredients to the fry pan and cook just until the chops are done, certainly not and hour and a half. Good with mashed potatoes and salad, as well as good, garlicky bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I think there is a typo in the baking time. 1 1/2 hours will burn your dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
The tomato sauce this recipe made was good, especially over rice, the only problem was that the sauce didn't soak into the pork real well. It was very fast to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I tried this recipe last night and it was wonderful. I did make one minor change though. I added shredded asiago/romano cheese to the top which seemed to finish it off quite nicely. I'd definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We loved these! I used Bone in Pork Chops And Canned Sliced Mushrooms. I served it with rice. It came out tender and delicious! I will be putting this into the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I plan to poke tenderizer into my chops then marinate them in tomato sauce & diced onions for a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States