Pork Chops with Stewed Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This was not very good. Pork chops were very tough as they virtually boil in the liquid (and I bought very GOOD quality chops from the butcher). Ingredients do not add desirable or complimentary flavors to pork. I wouldn't recommend this recipe, or make it again. Edible, but that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Nope. I am sorry to say this recipe needs help. Lots of it. The 90 minute cooking time essentially boiled the chops to death. We tossed it all in the trash.Maybe cutting the cooking time down would help but, somehow, I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
The tomato sauce this recipe made was good, especially over rice, the only problem was that the sauce didn't soak into the pork real well. It was very fast to prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I think there is a typo in the baking time. 1 1/2 hours will burn your dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I plan to poke tenderizer into my chops then marinate them in tomato sauce & diced onions for a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is an excellent recipe IF you use a cut like pork steaks or bone-in pork chops AND lower the oven temp to between 275 and 325. These benefit from the long cook time on a low setting. However, a high quality cut like boneless pork loin chops will only get overdone and tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Did not like this one!! Too tough and no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I tried this recipe last night and it was wonderful. I did make one minor change though. I added shredded asiago/romano cheese to the top which seemed to finish it off quite nicely. I'd definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
The recipe isn't bad, but needs some changes. It's better to brown the chops in a fry pan. Add the onion while browning. Then put it into a baking pan if you really want to bake them, but there's no need. Just add the remaining ingredients to the fry pan and cook just until the chops are done, certainly not and hour and a half. Good with mashed potatoes and salad, as well as good, garlicky bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My wife just cooked this tonight. It was very good. She did make it a little different than what the recipe calls for. First she put some vegtable oil in a skillet, browned the diced up onion and the pork chops on each side for about 5 minutes total. Then she put the onions and pork chops in the baking dish seasoned with salt and pepper, and she used can diced tomatos instead of stewed tomatos since that is what we had on hand, then seasoned the tomatos with garlic pepper. She covered the dish and baked in the oven for 40 minutes, then uncovered it and baked for an additional 6-10 minutes. We ate it all over rice, and it was sensational...even our picky eaters of two boy's ate it. (we have a 9 year old, and 3 year old. Our 1 year old is not to big on table foods yet, but he did eat one piece of meat) My wife will definately be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States