Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had 2 leftover 3/4" grilled pork loin chops to come up with something for Wednesday night dinner. I saw this recipe & said, "SHAZZAM"! I sautéed some onion & quartered baby-bellos with EVOO. Added some Golden Sherry (I saw 'Stroganoff' referenced in another post & it just sounded right.) & let it bubble a bit. Went to cabinet for mushroom soup... NONE! But... 'Wifey' had bought an 18 oz can of Progresso 'Creamy Portobello, Recipe Starter, cooking sauce' (must have been on sale). Threw most of it in & it looked too thin. Cooked it down 15-20 min, before adding S&P, Worcestershire. Added some sour cream, accumulated pork juices, frozen peas, stirred & buried the chops. Heated @ med-low for about 20 min & served over X-wide egg noodles. YUM!!! We snarfed it! BTW... Wifey made me save all the leftover sauce & peas, for her to take to work. So... I guess I did OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Loved this. It was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bill flanagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
very good. I use this cream of mushroom/sour cream combination with a lot meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
After reading the reviews I added a couple of things to this dish to give it a little bit more of a kick (Garlic and Thyme). This is a great starting point and it is easy to either keep as is, or add your own touches. Really turned out good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie Osment Dalton
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this mostly as written, and we loved it! I did season my pork chops with garlic salt and pepper, and I used less sour cream than it said, but other than that just simmered them in the sauce for about an hour until they were melt in your mouth tender. The sour cream gives is a nice stroganoff flavor. I served it over egg noodles, and it was soooo good! I will absolutely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Osment Dalton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This was very good - but it's only a base, you must season the gravy to your desired preferences. I let it simmer about forty minutes, then started adding seasonings (garlic powder, a little garlic salt, a dash of chili powder, pepper, some ground thyme, a little oregano and a little rosemary). I would leave out the oregano and rosemary next time, but I think the rest of the seasonings were good additions. I added a little, taste tested, and tweaked some more until I got the flavor I wanted. I added a can of drained mushrooms at the end too. Served with steamed rice and veggies. Very yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
After reading the reviews, I also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder, a dash of ground red pepper ,1/2tsp onion powder,1/4 cup white wine and some sauteed mushrooms. Gave it some zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Great basic recipe. I did saute some sliced onion before I made the "gravy" and added a little fresh ground pepper and a touch worchestershire sauce. Serious comfort food for me, my mother made this recipe for my sister and I when we were kids. I served this with homemade mashed potatoes and roasted vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
We thought this was good, but like many others, I made a few changes... I seasoned my chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder before browning for about 4 min on each side. I removed them from the pan and added maybe 1.5 cups of mushrooms with some olive oil cooking spray, minced onions and garlic powder. I cooked those for a bit, then added the fat free sour cream and healthy choice cream of mushroon soup, then put the chops back in the pan to let them simmer for 30 or so minutes. The fat free ingredients weren't even detected by my picky husband; the gravy tasted really good. I served along with brown rice (that I added some of the gravy to- yum!) and sauteed zucchini. Great healthy dinner, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States