Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I typically make a recipe exactly as written the first time, but Alissa's revisions in her review (most helpful as of 10-2008) just sounded too good! I followed her tips, for the most part. Here's what I did: First, I browned the chops in some butter after sprinkling them well with pepper. In a second large skillet (with a cover), I melted 2 T of butter and added a bit each of oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper. Then I sauteed 1/2 an onion (chopped) and 2 tsp minced garlic for a few minutes before adding a can of sliced mushrooms and 1/4 c of dark beer. After this had boiled for a few minutes, I stirred in the sour cream/soup mixture, then added the chops to this skillet, and simmered for about 45 minutes. Fantastic, especially with garlic mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
LOVED this! Very similar to Skillet Chops in Mushroom Gravy from this site. I followed a suggestion to melt some butter and seasonings (garlic powder, oregano, basil, thyme, pepper)- brown the chops on both sides in that, then stirred 1 can of soup, a couple of heaping spoonfuls of sour cream (for 3 thick chops) and tossed in 1 small can drained, sliced mushrooms and some black olives for a little color. So quick and tasty - I about licked the plate clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe is great but I did make some changes (did not put any sour cream and mixed in a Dry onion soup with a can of cream of mushroom and onion soup) I also browned the pork chop on the stovetop then removed the fat and put the sauce and pork chop in the oven for about 45min. (if you only have non-stick pan I would recommend putting it all in a different oven safe container)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabelle Lelievre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
My Grandma always adds Sherry or Cooking Sherry to this recipe! 1/4 - 1/3 cup is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blythegreene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My family raved about these pork chops! Normally pork chops always turn out dry for me, but not this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made a few changes, and this was fantastic! First, I heated 1 tbsp. EVOO with one clove pressed fresh garlic in the pan until it was golden and fragrent. I then added some dried rosemary, salt and pepper, and some dried onions. I let all that simmer together for about 3 min. Next, I mixed some Nature's seasoning (or any season all you like) with the flour- it was pretty heavily seasoned. I then seasoned both sides of the chops with the Nature's seasoning before dredging in the flour. Before adding the chops to the browning pan, I added 1 tbsp. of butter to the oil mixture and stirred everything up. Then I browned the chops for about 5 min. on both sides. Once done, I mixed the soup and sour cream together, adding some garlic salt and a pinch more rosemary to the soup mix. I put that on top of the chops, covered, and lowered the temp. to "low" and let it simmer for about 50 min. I turned them every 15 min, as suggested. Served over rice- WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I changed this but it was wonderful in the end. I spread some dijon mustard on each chop then dredged it in a but of flower with garlic and onion powder in it. Then I browned the chops in a little olive oil. Then I mixed up the sour cream and soup. But I added some minced garlic, onion powder, dash of worcestershire and a little diet coke. (I prefer non-diet soda with my meat, but did not have any) The soda acts like a tenderizer. I took my chops out of the pan poured the cream mixture in and scraped the bits off the bottom. Then I put the chops back in the pan and with a lid on pan I put the whole thing in the oven on 350 for an hour. Oh my gosh, yummy...tender and great flavor. I served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Fantastic! I used Alissa's modifications, and have made this several times now I love it so much! I've passed it on to family and friends, and everyone raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I also agree with everyone that said the recipe was bland. What I did to change it up was (of course add seasoning like most) but I breaded the pork chops first. with a flour/egg/bread crumb mix. cooked for about 5 minutes on each side, made the sauce in the pan, then added the pork chops back in and cooked in the oven for 35 - 40 minutes. Chops were very tender and putting it in the oven gave the sauce more body. We gave it a 5 with the changes we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was quick and very easy. I made the dish the night before and it was still very good. I seasoned the chops with pepper, garlic, and poultry seasoning and added chopped onions, mushrooms, honey, and dijon mustard to the sauce to add a little more flavor. I served the meal over wide egg noodles. It was delicious and very filling. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States