Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I had four (5oz) boneless pork chops, so I halved the sauce amount. We still had MORE than enough sauce. I served it over white rice. My changes: I browned the chops in butter, minced garlic, and 1/4t each oregano and garlic salt. I then removed the pork chops and cooked them in my foreman grill for a bit longer. While the chops were cooking there, I sauteed fresh mushrooms in the pan on the stove. When the chops were done, I added them to the fresh mushrooms and added on can of mush. soup, and 1 cup sour cream. I brought it to a boil, and then let it simmer for about 30 minutes. Good Dinner - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I browned my chops, drained, then mixed cream of mushroom, sour cream, garlic powder, 2 tbs wortershire sauce, Tonys seasoning, and little pepper and kosher rock salt, it was delicious, i just added the few adjustments to give a lil kick more to the taste, but it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweecu4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of pork chops but this recipe is pretty good. I loved the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I too followed other reviewers' advice and made some additions. I sprinkled the pork chops with garlic salt, pepper and paprika. I wisked the sour cream & cream of mushroom together in a small bowl. In a large electric skillet I sauteed chopped onions and chopped fresh mushrooms in olive oil & butter and then removed them, adding them to the sour cream & soup. Then I browned the chops, added the sour cream/soup mixture and simmered for about 35 minutes on very low heat, turning once and stirring often. It came out very good and there was plenty of tasty sauce. The paprika added nice color. I served it with egg noodles and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
One word - delicious! I found this recipe because I searched on two ingredients I wanted to use up - mushrooms and sour cream. It was perfect that I had already defrosted chops! I took the advice of some other reviewers and sauteed some mushrooms ahead of time and also added some sherry and dijon mustard to the sauce. The sauce used fat free soup and reduced fat sour cream and I loved that it made it a little lighter. I added some pepper and garlic salt to the chops before browning too. I had halved the recipe and used a bit less than a cup of the sour cream. All in all, it only took about 35 minutes to cook instead of the hour and I also put the lid on the pan a few times. My husband loved this and even put it over his noodles too. My kids are pretty picky eaters so what I also loved about this is the sauce can be served on the side so they don't need to have much of it at all (besides what soaks in during cooking) but the less picky grown ups can still have something new and tasty. Highly recommend this one! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Giving this 5-stars because it's a great basic recipe! This is one of those you can add in whatever additional spices or seasonal vegetables your heart desires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is sooo delicious! I took some of the advice from the other ratings and added a little more to the recipe. I mixed 2 cans cream of mushroom with 1/2 pint of sour cream, and about a tbl spoon of worchestershire for the sauce. Before putting in the chops I melted butter with 1/2 chopped onion, garlic, and seasoning in the pan. Then seasoned the chops like I like, and browned with the onion and butter in the pan. Poured the sauce over the top and voila! It was so delicious, my friend asked if she could just have a cup of the gravy to drink with a straw! Such a great base recipe that you can add to to make it your own. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Great with the suggestions in the other reviews. I browned pork chops and then removed them and cooked some mushrooms, onions and garlic. I deglazed the pan with some white wine and added 1 can mushroom soup and 3/4 c sour cream. I used fat free and it came out fine. I added 1 tsp of dijon mustard. I thought it tasted better the next day. I also froze the rest and it reheated nicely. It is a great make ahead meal to have to pull out of the freezer. The pork chops were so tender. My two picky kids actually liked this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was delish! I used bone-in chops because that is all I had and I think that bones add flavor to meat. I used the 2 cans of the soup and just half the sour cream. I seasoned the chops with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and cumin. Then I browned the chops and combined the cream and soup in a bowl. I added about 1/4 cup Worcestshire sauce to the mix. After the chops were browned and drained, I topped with cream mixture and let simmer for an hour. Made with mac'n'cheese and mashed potatos. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraguajardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
5 stars for ease of recipe and that I didn't have to go to the store to get any of the ingredients! I sauted 1 1/2 medium onions in 4 tbsp butter, along with 2 tsp crushed garlic and 2 tsp crushed ginger. After chops were browned, I added the 2 cans of crm of mushrom soup, and maybe 3 tbsp of Marsala wine. I also used a few dashes of sea salt but probably didn't need that. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States