Pork Chops with Sour Cream and Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
These were good. I had three huge boneless pork chops we had first intended to butterfly and grill. They ended up in the skillet however! I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 12 ounces of sour cream, parsley, salt, pepper, and garlic. I made sure the chops were good and brown on both sides and around the edges before I added the soup mixture. I ended up only having to cook them for 35 minutes once I put in the soup. I had to stay with them and stir frequently. The sauce bubbles up and and "curdles" like milk. I also flipped the chops a little more often than 15 minutes. They tended to stick. This made the house smell wonderful. I didn't serve the gravy with the chops. After 30 minutes it was just too thick. The taste of the chops was very good. I think, however, next time I will toss the whole thing in the slow cooker instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This was pretty good and fast. I used white wine & fresh mushrooms. I thought my adjustments made it turn out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
We loved it. Very easy! I also added sautéed mushrooms and used salt/pepper on the chops before browning. Served w/ salad and potatoes. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Good, quick recipe! However, I added a small can of sliced mushrooms (drained) and a packet of dry onion-mushroom soup mix to give the gravy some oomph. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I agree with another reviewer that said this is pretty basic. You really need to get some spices into it. Pick your favorites and try it out. It really does have a lot of potential. We liked it after adding some sauteed mushrooms and garlic. I also added some white wine while the mushrooms and garlic cooked.(Will make again with my changes.) Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe is simple and tasty. I added fresh mushrooms instead of canned and served over rice. You could easily add other veggies for those of us that don't like to eat our veggies. Ex: carrots, peas, fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
We thought this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
I liked this recipe because it was basic...you can add things to it to spice it up, or just keep it sort of bland. I added more mushrooms, some chopped black olves and a hit of lemon pepper. It came out well. Very basic, but lots of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-108 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States