Pork Chops with Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I am glad I tried this, the pork chops came out VERY tender and the gravy was good too. Next time I will cut the amount of pepper way down, there was too much. The only thing I changed was the gravy, I added salt to my taste and also added enough water to get the gravy to be the consistancy that I like. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I don't know why more people haven't tried this recipe--it's great. I can't eat cheese, so the other scalloped potato and pork recipes don't work for me, but this was is perfect. I scaled it back for two pork chops, and I used beef stock instead of the beef bouillon and water. I took two pork chops out of the freezer and thawed them, and then my husband, who had packaged them for the freezer, told me that I had taken out turkey breasts or tenderloins. But, I made the recipe anyway, and it is very good with turkey. Next time I will make it with pork. The gravy was excellent! I served it with green beans and Irresistible Soda Bread--easy and nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I too agree this is a very good quick pork chop recipe. My kids are allergic to dairy and I have never found a replacement for old fashioned Scalloped Potatoes. I was skeptical but these are very good! The kids liked them too. The only thing I did different was to add and additonal cup of beef broth to the gravy to make more. The recipe handled it just fine and I didn't need to add extra flour at all. Also, don't cut the potatoes too thin (as I did) or they come out a little mushy. Cut maybe 1/4 inch thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I liked the recipe, like the other reviewers, because it was pretty low fat if you went light on the gravy AND it didn't call for cheese. The recipe doesn't call for salt and it definetely needs salt - you always have to add salt to potatoes - they are much better that way. My pork chops came out a bit tough. But, I think next time I will try searing them a little longer and maybe try using pork chops with the bone because they are often more tender than the boneless. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Made this last night hoping my family would like it, and they LOVED IT! My 1 1/2 year old was actually pulling the entire pork chop off of the plate, because we couldn't cut it fast enough for him. Will be a "family favorite". T Thanks for helping a picky eating family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Didn't like this recipe too much. Family voted to not have again. Something missing-not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turners Falls, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
We used beef broth instead of the bullion, and added 1/8 cup white wine, 1/8 tsp each minced garlic, oregano and ground red pepper. After about 55 minutes in oven,we topped it with 1/4 cup French fried onions and 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. It was broiled till cheese was crispy to our tate, about 5 minutes. I forgot to thicken the juices as it was getting late but I'll do that on my next attempt! This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodFoodLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was delicious! My toddler gobbled up everything on his plate and asked for more. My hubby (who is the picky eater in the house) actually liked this dish too. And wouldn't mind if it's in our rotation. I served it with some brocolli and it was a great compliment. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I loved this recipe! I used thick bone-in pork chops so I needed to cook for an additional 15 minutes or so. The pork was tender and the gravy was yummy! I'm adding this to my rotation for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was very good but next time I will use 1 inch pork chops and a little more liquid. And there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States