Pork Chops with Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I used beef broth as opposed to the boullion cube, added garlic (about 2 cloves, minced) along with salt and it was still bland. The whole recipe was tasteless and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was an easy, tasty recipe. I did add some shredded cheddar to the mix and I cooked in the slow cooker for about 5 hours, turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPUNZEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
So I basically followed the recipe except I did add a few things based on other reviews. First, I used beef broth, second, I added one garlic clove to the dish, and thirdly I garlic salted and peppered the pork before browning. The pork came out a little dry and bland...but that could have been because I cooked it for about 10 minutes longer as we are 5,000ft and the altitude usually makes things like potatoes cook longer. The potatoes were done to perfection though, so I am glad I cooked them a little longer. I did find the dish a little bland, even w/ the gravy and addition seasoning on my part. I think that I may try and remove the pork and juice, then add a little panko flake to the top of the potatoes and onions and then sprinkle w/ some cheese, put back in the oven for 5-10 minutes and see how it turns out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I am alone now that my son is off to college, and sometimes it's difficult to scale recipes down and have the flavor you want! This recipe turned out well for me though. The only real change I made was to add just a little left over cream I had to the gravy. I let it cook down on the stovetop. Very good recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannabofanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I really liked this dish. Family is not fond of one dish meals so it wasn't a big hit. But the flavors were really great. When I make any kind of pork gravy I usually use 1/2 chicken 1/2 beef bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this dish. It was easy to make, had good flavor, and the port chops turned out nice and juicy! The only thing I would change next time is how the gravy is made. I would mix the flour with a little of the drippings instead of regular water to prevent clumping, and I would slowly add it to the rest of the drippings until I got the consistency I wanted as adding all of the flour mixture made the gravy too thick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
When I made these for my family, my husband said he'd fallen in love with me all over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
great meal...fills you up with yummy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I had the pork chops and potatoes - just needed the recipe and picked this one. It was a hit with the family becuase the pork chops weren't dried out. I used a cup of broth instead of boullion. I used Italian seasoning instead of just thyme. It could have had a bit more flavor but I think I'll be making it again. The potatoes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was Wonderful!!! My family abs. loved it. I am not a big pork chop fan, but this rec. was worth the risk. I will be making it on a regular basis from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillham, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Parachute, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States