Pork Chops with Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This turned out pretty good. I'll admit that I haven't made scalloped potatoes in years...(probably close to five or so)...and the results weren't exactly promising last time...(potatoes were under done)...so with this, I wanted to make sure that THAT didn't happen again. I changed a few things on the recipe, using this as a foundation more then anything else. I didn't have pork, so I chopped up two large sized chicken breasts and browned them with garlic, butter, onion powder, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper. I layered it according to the directions above, adding 1/2 a block of cream cheese in cubes between the potatoes and onions and meat...(you'll probably want to soften the cream cheese a bit first)...Then finished the second layer of potato and onion mix, putting the second half of the cheese on top of it, with an extra touch of garlic and onion powder sprinkled over top. Instead of beef bullion, I used chicken. Followed the baking time, then added a layer of sharp cheddar on top, baking uncovered for ten more minutes. It came out remarkably well...(I was actually quite surprised myself)...the flavors mixed well and the chicken complemented the dish awesomely. I think if I were to make it this way again, the only two things I'd change up a bit, is add Cajun or creole seasoning...(didn't have any tonight)...and maybe add some fresh squeezed lemon juice to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Not good and not bad!! I read all of the reviews so I was prepared. My potatoes cooked (yeah) and my 1+ inch boneless pork chops cooked (yeah). It took 1 hour. I thickened the sauce with Kitchen Bouquet. Potatoes were very bland. I did not use all of the Thyme but I don't think using all of it would be the answer. The potatoes tasted like they were boiled. Ugh. I missed the crustiness of the milk and cheese. I won't be making this again, although my husband would disagree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Cooked perfectly, with no need to thicken the gravy. Even my little sister had two servings (her favorite "food" is Taco Bell), so I consider this a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I found this to be an ok meal. The chops were done long before the potatoes though. Far too much onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I knew 1 hour would produce overcooked chops, so I cut the time to 30mins. Even then, the internal temp was 180*. I may try this recipe again, and check at 15mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My family really enjoyed this dish. The pork chops come out very tender and the potatoes are perfectly seasoned. I think the dried thyme adds a wonderful dimension to the dish. I have made this several times as written and has turned out great each time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My family liked this dish, and I found it super easy to prepare. The thyme flavor was very strong, but we like it here. I did season my pork with salt, pepper, and garlic powder when browning but felt that no other changes were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband loved this. Usually any pork I make is overcooked. For this, I had a really big pork loin that I cut into 6 chops (the other half went in the freezer). I used my own homemade spice mix - not that big of a fan of thyme. Cut up the potatoes and onion in my food processor. Easy, delish and the chops were SOOO tender! I did skip the last part - I already had some store bought gravy - bad me, but so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I loved this. I did use bone-in pork chops, because that is what was thawed out. I cooked a little longer. I used Spike seasoning instead of thyme and added salt. Loved the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Easy to follow directions with terrific results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States