Pork Chops with Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Not good and not bad!! I read all of the reviews so I was prepared. My potatoes cooked (yeah) and my 1+ inch boneless pork chops cooked (yeah). It took 1 hour. I thickened the sauce with Kitchen Bouquet. Potatoes were very bland. I did not use all of the Thyme but I don't think using all of it would be the answer. The potatoes tasted like they were boiled. Ugh. I missed the crustiness of the milk and cheese. I won't be making this again, although my husband would disagree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Cooked perfectly, with no need to thicken the gravy. Even my little sister had two servings (her favorite "food" is Taco Bell), so I consider this a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I found this to be an ok meal. The chops were done long before the potatoes though. Far too much onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I knew 1 hour would produce overcooked chops, so I cut the time to 30mins. Even then, the internal temp was 180*. I may try this recipe again, and check at 15mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My family really enjoyed this dish. The pork chops come out very tender and the potatoes are perfectly seasoned. I think the dried thyme adds a wonderful dimension to the dish. I have made this several times as written and has turned out great each time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
My family liked this dish, and I found it super easy to prepare. The thyme flavor was very strong, but we like it here. I did season my pork with salt, pepper, and garlic powder when browning but felt that no other changes were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My husband loved this. Usually any pork I make is overcooked. For this, I had a really big pork loin that I cut into 6 chops (the other half went in the freezer). I used my own homemade spice mix - not that big of a fan of thyme. Cut up the potatoes and onion in my food processor. Easy, delish and the chops were SOOO tender! I did skip the last part - I already had some store bought gravy - bad me, but so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I loved this. I did use bone-in pork chops, because that is what was thawed out. I cooked a little longer. I used Spike seasoning instead of thyme and added salt. Loved the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Easy to follow directions with terrific results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Way too much thyme for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Stinnett-Junkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States