Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I tried this a long time ago but never rated it. I made this with pork and once with chicken breasts and both very good. I used frozen oj concentrate about 2 tablespoons in place of OJ. I added some dried rosemary with other herbs, I would have used fresh if I'd had it. I also used balsamic vinegar and loved the mellow flavor! Also I added 2 tbs.of cold butter to this finished sauce, I added it last by slowly whisking it in a pat at a time, it thickens the sauce and gives it that silky quality found in French cooking. Serve this over a bed of soft polenta and you have a restaurant quality dish to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I've made this recipe a couple times now, and it is always great! It's important to use boneless chops though. The sauce is perfect, and I've used both red wine and white wine vinegars. The sauce thickens more once it's off the heat, so follow the directions, then let it sit a few minutes, and it will be perfect for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
My husband and I made this tonight. We loved it. We made two changes. One was switching the white wine vinegar with balsamic vinegar. The second was instead of raspberry we used blackberry (since that's all we had). We've made this recipe before with no changes and enjoyed it...We made again with these changes and LOVED it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was a fast dinner and was loved by all. I would make it for company, for sure! I grilled 6 bone-in thinner pork chops (had to make a little extra of the rub) - they had great flavor! I reduced my sauce a little too much, so watch that - it does thicken up upon cooling. Also, had no need for the olive oil, but used some butter in the sauce. I made 1 1/2 times the original recipe for the sauce & would like to just double it next time. Oh, and the only different ingredient I used was my favorite vinegar: White Balsamic Raspberry Blush Vinegar - My favorite (I could drink it! Well, maybe not). Served with mashed potatoes & sauteed baby zucchini(so cute on the plate!) - an excellent dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: I'm giving this 5* for the raspberry sauce, which I think you have to add a T more raspberry to for it to not only taste perfect, but to drown out the wine & create the perfect thickness! I just wanted to say that this sauce goes great with another amazing dish from this site ("Pistachio Crusted Chicken"). If you haven't tried nuts and chicken before, this is the best!!! We also like to serve this dish with mashed potatoes since everyone wants a reason to use more sauce! I HAVE made this recipe as state several times, and each time my husband says not to make it with pork again and rather eat it with chicken. I agree, so I fry some seasoned chicken until browned then add the sauce! Give it a whirl, you'll thank me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I thought these were very good, nice and juicy and the sauce was good, also. I made as directed, but doubled the sauce, as many reviews suggested. I didn't double the vinegar, though, I used only 3 TBSP...this was still a bit too much, I think. When tasting the sauce while cooking, I wondered how I could 'sweeten' it up a bit, and added a little more orange juice and just a little cornstarch to thicken. It tasted sooooo much better with the chops rather than by itself. I will definitely make this again soon, just reducing the amount of vinegar next time. One more thing, I didn't really think it was necessary to keep the chops warm in the oven while making the sauce, I was afraid it would dry them out, I just put them on a plate and covered them tightly with foil, this worked out fine. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
FANTASTIC!!!! My Husband who has a very small appetite went for thirds before rolling over to the couch. He said he thought it was the best meal I'd ever made. I served it with mashed potatoes and gravy, and a recipie for Italian peas I saw on here. Definately one of my favs, even my picky 5 year old cleaned his plate. The sauce was rather thin so we used corell dishes and dipped our pieces or pork chop. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
The pork chops in this sauce is amazing. I doubled the sauce, and added 2 Tbsp of butter at the end. I served it with french green beans and roasted red skin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was delicious and I WILL be doing it again. I used homemade orange juice with mandarin oranges and added a little of the pulp as well. Excellent flavor. Good idea to double the sauce for 4 chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made this last night and it is a good recipe. I'm not a huge fan of sage, but the amount works well on the chops. I upped the salt to 1/2t. I had a chief tell me once that most people do not salt their meat enough and i thought 1/4 t was to light for 3 big chops. The sauce is sweet as raspberry jam is. I think I would like to try this with another flavor - maybe apricot. I also used balsamic vinegar, but now wonder if I had used white wine if the acidic quality would have cut the sweetness a bit. I also had to salt and pepper the sauce. All in all a very good and different recipe. Even my picky daughter (who turned her nose up at it in the cooking process) liked it. Thanks for sharing, Robin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States