Pork Chops with Pear Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was great! I used 2 cans of pears and just used the juice from the cans rather than buying pear juice. Also, 1 Tbsp. of cinnamon was plenty. I think it would be way overpowering with 2 Tbsp. I also seasoned the pork chops with salt and pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
It was pretty good, but only because I added lots more sugar. The 2 tablespoons of cinnamon should probably be 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Tried this recipe because I wanted something different. Excellent, we LOVED it, and it's sooo easy. (If you cook down the pear sauce, it makes a great Pear Butter, spread it on toast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Loved this recipe. I made the pear sauce (1/2 TBS of cinnamon and apple cider vinegar instead of pear juice) and just cooked it down and smashed the pears (didn't use the blender) so it was slightly chunky- and delicious. I used one thick cut boneless pork chop and divided it between two people, added sauce when serving (with brown rice). It was declared 'restaurant worthy' (highest honor for an experimental recipe (!). Pork was not dry, sauce added to it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Wow...sweet is right! I LIKE that the grainy texture of the pear is maintained in the sauce....and that's about it. This was one-dimentional, overly sweet, had no acidity for balance (the lemon juice was non-existant), and even after cutting the cinnamon in 1/2, the only thing I could taste was pear & cinnamon, not even the pork chop. The sauce was so thick & sweet I'll be using it as pear butter on toast for the next few mornings so it won't go to waste. My remaining pork chops will be put to better use in any dish but this. IF I were to attempt this again, I'd cut the brown sugar to 1tbsp, omit the pear juice & use water or white wine instead, cut the cinnamon to 1tsp, and use a thicker pork chop. But really, I don't think it's worth all the effort; this one is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Too me this recipe was just okay. I made this recipe with a few changes. First of all, I used 2 little Delmonte pear cups and the juice from them, instead of using fresh pears and buying pear juice. Second, I did not puree the pear mixture, as I like the texture of the whole little pears instead. I put 1 tablespoon of cinnamon in it and it was way too overpowering and gave it a gritty taste. Next time I will definitely add the cinnamon by "to taste", not buy these measurements. Also, my mixture was thickened in 20 minutes; it didn't take 30 minutes like the recipe said. Overall, it had a good flavor. This can also be done with apples if you do not like pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
My family liked it alot! Would perfer to have the pear sauce on side though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
The pear sauce was delicious and I would make it again. I would, however, probably come up with a marinade and broil the pork next time. It was just too dry this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This has to seriously be the BEST pork chop recipe I have ever had! It was incredible and truly easy to make. I seasoned the chops with some season salt before frying them. The meal was intensley delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I tried this recipe tonight and I was pleasantly surprised. I usually like my pork chops spicy, but this recipe was the change I needed. The only thing I changed was to use fresh squeezed orange juice instead of the pear juice. (I forgot it on my shopping list) I will use the pear sauce with other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States