Pork Chops with Mushroom Onion Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Certainly nothing amazing about this recipe, but it's one that my family and I grew up with. It's easy to prepare ahead of time, stick in the fridge, then put in the oven that evening. The sauce goes well with egg noodles. I add a can of sliced mushrooms (drained), use 2 cans of soup, and use summer savory in place of marjoram. Definitely put the onion rings on the bottom of the pan and use boneless chops. This goes well with baked apple crisp for dessert, which bakes at the same temp. as the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
it was very good i think i will add another can of cream of mushroom to thicken up the gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcovey45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was a good and easy recipe. I left out the marjoram, because I don't have any, but sprinkled the chops with dried parsley, basil, and garlic powder. Great served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe is a really excellent one. My husband and son both loved it and even got seconds. My husband has already requested that I make it again. I made mine with cheesy bacon scallop potatoes and corn. The only thing I did different is put soy sauce and season my meat with a variety of seasons (instead of using marjoram because I didn't have any on hand) and let it marniate in the refrigerator while i prepared my scallop potatoes. OVERALL THIS IS A REALLY GREAT RECIPE AND DESERVE 5 GOLD STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I tried this recipe and liked it but I but seemed a bit dull. Try it by smothering the top of the chops with carmalized onions and used Golden Mushroom soup instead, that really snapped it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a delicious recipe.Now I gave this recipe two stars because of the amount of seasoning in it.You have to use more than two teaspoons of salt to season anything.I just seasoned the meat with salt and pepper and baited it in a little flour before frying.When pork chops were frying I cut up some regular onions and garlic to flavor the meat.After meat was done browning I transfered it to the Mushroom gravy. I added some seasoning salt and pepper to the Mushroom soup.Towards the end of cooking I topped the pork chops with green onions.The green onions gave this dish a really good flavor.This recipe worked well with thin cut pork chops which I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I followed this recipe to the "T", well almost. I used cream of potato soup. To the soup I used chicken broth instead of water and I added sauted mushrooms and chopped celery. I sauted the mushrooms in garlic and onion powder and it came out pretty nice! I topped it with some chervil, (french parsley) and it was divine. My husband said it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
My husband and I loved this recipe. It is simple and earthy. The only change I made was to add 1/4 cup of sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I used leftover pork tenderloin that I cut into chops. Very good recipe that my whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
in a word...eh. not a place i'll be revisiting. i doubled the sauce and subbed wine for the water. there was just nothing even close to special about this dish--neither the sauce nor the meat. very bland and very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States