Pork Chops with Italian Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by amb1580
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This was one of, if not, THE BEST recipe I have ever made!!! I read almost all of the reviews and due to other reviewers I substituted one can of Hunt's diced tomatoes with roasted garlic, drained some of the juice, with a can of tomato paste mixed into it (instead of the tomato sauce). I used a Pinot Noir wine. I cooked for 1 hour and 15 mintues at 350 degrees, they were fork tender! Other reviewers had said theirs were tough so I would cook them as I have described, #1 recipe ever! To think I only made these because I had 2 leftover mild Italian sausage links I didn't know what to do with! Served with white minute rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used diced tomatoes rather than tomato sauce and doubled most of the spices. I served it over rotini with a healthy dose of fresh grated aprmesan on top. Both my fiancé and my parents loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is a great recipe for the "Meat Lovers" in your family. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. I would serve this to company but it also makes a hearty family dinner as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this. Not so sure about my kids but they are reallly picky eaters. Based on other reviews, I did add some tomato paste which seemed to thicken up the sauce. I did not have any problems with it being too runny. Will definitely make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
We really enjoyed this, I used thin pork chops so cut down on the frying time. Otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. This made a very pleasant change. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My husband loves this dish. It's pretty forgiving too. I double the recipe and use a full pound of HOT Italian sausage. I also add in chopped green bell pepper. Sometimes I don't have tomato sauce so I'll use spaghetti sauce and the recipe still turns out great, if not even better. I've even made my own spaghetti sauce and that was my husband's ultimate favorite way to eat this. Omit the red wine, tomato sauce and Italian seasoning. Instead in a big bowl combine - one big can or two small cans of tomato sauce and one big fat can of whole tomatoes (crush them), 2 tablespoons paprika, 1-1/2 tablespoons garlic powder, 1 tablespoon oregano and salt and pepper the sauce to taste. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I thought this recipes was great and also wish the sauce was a little thicker. Maybe next time I'll mix some tomato paste in too? I took the leftover sausage,mushrooms and sauce and poured it over some wholewheat pasta for lunch the next day - AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was an awesome recipe! I substituted spaghetti sauce for the tomato sauce to make it a little thicker and it worked quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
My husband and I both loved this!! My kids weren't too excited, but their tastes are pretty limited. Will definitely make again!! It is in my recipe box now. I used 8 thin cut boneless pork chops, spaghetti sauce and dry sherry as substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coatesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was very good. However, both my husband and I thought it was too salty. Next time will omit the salt in the recipe. I used hot sausage and regular sausage. Served this dish with angel hair pasta. It was definitely flavorful. I did make sure the thick chops were well browned as suggested by l of the others ratings. Will make this again for sure. Also, baked this for 1 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States