Pork Chops with Garden Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
The rice was extremely flavorful and colorful. Next time I will put the rise mixture over the chops instead of the chops over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I loved this recipe. The rice was very tasty. I used chicken broth, because I had it on hand. Also I didn't have mushrooms, but used shredded carrots. Almost any veggie would be good. This is my new favorite pork chop recipe. So nice to not have cream of mushroom soup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Very Good. I love the caserol idea. Easy clean up. I totally tweaked the recipe though and made it into a sort of spanish rice (was simply in the mood).I added some onion and cooked it with some garlic. Then cooked the rice a little. I replaced the canned tomatoes with a tomato sauce and added about 1 tsp. of Cummin. Made the dish rich and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risuma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
The rice recipe is good, and I don't usually even really like rice! The pork chops are just okay, and a little bland. I added lots of fresh garlic and fresh tomatoes (instead of canned) to the rice. I think in the future I would cook the pork chops another way and serve the rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I , DUE TO MY HUSBAND DISLIKING THE COOKED TOMATOES ,MAKE ONE VERY SIMILIAR. BROWN THE SEASONED CHOPS AND PLACE IN BAKING DISH . DICE UP PEPPERS , ONIONS AND CARROTS (ADD MUSHROOMS , IF YOU LIKE , CANNED OR FRESH ).SAUTE' TIL SOFTENED , THEN ADD RICE (I CUP ) , MIX WITH VEGIES , SPOON OVER CHOPS . I USE I CAN BEEF CONSOMME' ( USE WHAT EVER YOU LIKE ) AND 1 CUP HOT WATER ... POUR TOGETHER OVER THE CHOP MIXTURE . COVER AND BAKE AT 350 FOR 1 HOUR . SIMPLE AND EVERYONE , OF ALL AGES ,LOVES IT .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was a BIG hit and very easy. I'm always looking for the one-dish dinners to make on busy nights. I did have to alter a little bit b/c I only had instant (Uncle Ben's in the bag rice). I cooked the rice in the bag in the microwave and par-boiled broccoli in chicken broth for 5 min. Then I added red pepper and fresh tomatoes (chopped). I drained most of the broth and mixed the rice and veggies together with a little bit of the broth to keep it from drying out. The rest was followed as directed and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Thank you for a recipe with rice and pork chops that DID NOT have condensed soup in the mix! We enjoyed this recipe. I would kick up the rice mixture a little more next time with more onions and fresh garlic with the rice. I would also make sure that your pork has a little bit of fat on it, so the chops don't dry out! I used brown rice and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Made this last night and it was great. I didnt have the diced tomatoes so it may have been a little dry but it had great flavor and was an easy & quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
very bland. Wont be making this again. Followed recipe exactly but i didnt have canned diced tomatoes so I chopped fresh ones. Very disappointed with this recipe esspecially since it ad high ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was a very good and healthy way to prepare a one-dish pork chop meal. We really enjoy the lightness of it. Next time I will try using Rotel tomatoes instead of plain for a little zippier flavor. Also used brown rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States