Pork Chops with Garden Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe was great. My husband liked the rice, but he didn't like all the "stuff" in it. Maybe I lucked out, but I had no problems with my pork chops being dry. I did saute my veggies for about 5 minutes before adding the rice and the broth. I'll be making this again, and hopefully soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is a great flavorful recipe. I used brown rice and it came out delicious. Perhaps I'll use a little less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I changed the seasonings from italian to spanish (personal preference) and added some extra stuff like salsa and green chiles. This is a very versatile recipe, you can make it so many ways. NO CONDENSED SOUP YAYYYYY! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
The rice recipe is good, and I don't usually even really like rice! The pork chops are just okay, and a little bland. I added lots of fresh garlic and fresh tomatoes (instead of canned) to the rice. I think in the future I would cook the pork chops another way and serve the rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I really liked this one, and the kids loved it too! I actually put carrots instead of mushrooms, and was outta rice, so used noodles. It was good. Sprinkle some cheese on top and it finishes it up great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We just found this to be OK. I was surprised, because of all the yummy ingredients in it, but it ended up with no real flavour. Part of the problem I had with it was the fact that after an hour the rice was mushy and overcooked, and the pork had completely dried out. When I do pork chops, I either cook them quickly to keep them moist, or slow cook them for a long time to make them tender. The cooking time on this seemed to be somewhere in the middle. Maybe I'd use a slow cooker and substitute wild rice next time? Not really sure...thanks for the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Was easy to prepare. Used chicken broth instead of water. Everyone loved it with except for the picky eater. He isn't much of a pepper fan, but my husband and 15 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This was a very good recipe. The pork did come out very tender, but it was a little bland. The rice, however, was amazing, and I'll be using that rice recipe for other things-- maybe fish or chicken. We all really liked this dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Very Good. This came out a lot better than I had expected. I had to substitute the vegetable broth with chicken broth because I didn't have any veggie broth. Also, I did not have any orange peppers so only used green peppers. I did not have green onions and I substituted by using a yellow onion. This turned out delicious. As a time saving measure you could cut up all of the vegetables and precook the rice mixture and refrigerate over night. That way the following evening to make a quick meal all you have to do is brown the chops and throw it all in a dish into the oven it goes!! I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Instead of the vegetables listed I added a small bag of frozen chopped mixed vegetables along with the can of diced tomatoes. I still found that it lacked a tiny bit of flavor. Maybe it's because I was using lean and thin chops. Still a wonderful recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States