Pork Chops with Dill Pickle Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for innovative thinking and surprisingly good results. I still think it needs a little black pepper, maybe some chili flakes - but I'm not going to harp on it. The whole time this was marinating I thought I may have finally gone too far left in the weird recipe category and would end up tossing 4 pounds of pork loin, but we were ALL very impressed with the finished product. Afer thawing and marinating in the pickle juice (I also used some pepperoncini juice - same diff - as I ran low on pickle juice) for about 20 hours, and cooking on the indoor grill for about 7 minutes total, this pork was super-tender, flavorful, delicious. And not nearly as pickle-in-yer-face as I thought it was going to be. I have a little leftover that I'm going to make cold pork sandwiches with on french rolls. Little mayo and black pepper (possibly a pickle or 2) and I will be in business. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These have got to be the juiciest pork chops I've ever made! I liked the flavor, as well. It wasn't an overwhelming pickle flavor like I was worried it may be. I marinated for 18 hours or so. I sprinkled some garlic powder and pepper on the chops while grilling. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I really liked these! I marinated them in the pickle juice (didn't measure, just dumped to cover the meat) all day and then grilled for a yummy easy dinner! These had a great dill taste, kind like a Dill Pickle Potato Chip. But w/pork. And not crunchy. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I BAKE OR GRILL MINE RIGHT IN THE MARINADE THEN USE IT AS A "SAUCE" WITH THE CHOPS. I ALSO ADD EXTRA GARLIC. I SUBMITTED THIS RECIPE ALSO AND WAS DENIED BECAUSE I USED PRETTY MUCH THE SAME RECIPE. NEVER THOUGHT SOMEONE ELSE WOULD USE PICKLE JUICE ON PORK CHOPS I DID IT FOR MY KIDS BECAUSE THEY LOVE PICKLES. FOR THE LONGEST TIME THEY WOULDNT LET ME MAKE THEM ANY OTHER WAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I didn't catch the wave on this one. I thought it was marginal at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I have to comment on the picture: they arn't the least bit appealing to the eye...browning more would help with first impression. Other than that, the pickle marinade was a very interesting and different idea...tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Didn't look appealing. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
What a yummy way to change up a pork chop. Pickle lovers will eat this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I thought this was a refreshing, new marinade for chops.....I wasn't sure about this at first, but I really did like it. The dill is not overpowering, but just right....a slight hint of dill pickle flavor. I've used this on pork tenderloin as well....I recommend butterflying it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I made these pork chops, but whisked 6 Tblsp ketchup and 4 Tblsp yellow mustard into the pickle juice before pouring it over the chops. The sauce, if thickened slightly with corn starch or flour, is good enough to serve over thick amish noodles. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States