Pork Chops with Blue Cheese Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I came across this recipe quite by accident. Delicious, moist, I mean almost to die for. It is simple and quick to prepare. I always try to make a recipe exactly as stated first so I can fairly judge it. I tried this with out added bluecheese. It is mild and delicious. Even my non bluecheese eaters loved the gravy. For those of us who like a bit more bluecheese I added more and it also was excellent. I love gravies made with whipping cream. I however can not afford the calories on a regular basis as they tend to go to my hips. The next time I make this I will make the gravie with nonfat half-n-half, nonfat canned milk, or nonfat milk. When I use nonfat milk in place of whipping cream or half-n-half I add 1 tablespoon of cornstarch for thickening per cup of liqued. I will also use olive-oil in place of butter. I like some of the other reviewers sauteed mushrooms and served them on the side. I will be making this again soon with a nice cut of steak. I know it will be a hit too! Thanxs Toni for an excellent recipe. It is a keeper for sure and I will use it again and again. This recipe is well worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
This was very good. I substituted the 1 cup of whipping cream and 2oz. blue cheese with 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup blue cheese dressing. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
This was very tasty. I took some suggestions from other people and made a couple of changes. I cooked some mushrooms along with the pork chops (put them in towards the end.) I seasoned the chops with Nature's Seasoning Blend and cayenne pepper. I also used 4 oz. of blue cheese instead of 2. I served this over linguine . Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Excellent recipe. The gravy was very tasty - you must enjoy blue cheese, of course. I added about a tablespoon of flour to help the gravy thicken. Very fast and simple to prepare. I served it with rice and green beans. I'm already looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Great recipe - super simple, and the gravy was deliciously different (you must enjoy bleu cheese, though). Simple enough to whip up after a long, hard day at work. Had a gourmet flair. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
I served this to my husband and we both loved it! We decided to grill the pork chops and then add the gravy. I also used about a teaspoon of corn starch to thicken the gravy just a little. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This recipe is great if you are on the Adkins Diet, but it is not one of the taste sensations of the century! I will make it again, but next time I will add chopped fried onions and sprinkle crumbled bacon over the top of the chops for added flavour. My husband liked the taste and is keen because the recipe is on his diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This was wonderful. I used Stilton instead of bleu cheese and it had a wonderful creamy texture. I used a few sauted mushrooms and served it with roasted Parisienne potatoes and steamed broccoli. My husband said it was a definite "do again"! The sauce would be nice on linguine with a nice piece of herbed salmon....many uses for this sauce recipe. Also, no corn starch etc is necessary if you simmer the sauce for the full 5 minutes to reduce it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
we love this recipe! It is quick & easy after a full day of work. We are big fans of blue cheese so I always use a whole 4oz container instead of just 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
I tried this tonight. It turned out pretty good. It was very easy to make. The gravy is really rich; it would be good served with some crusty bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States