Pork Chops with Blue Cheese Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Amazing and easy! Great for those on low-carb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Loved this. I did edit the recipe, but WOW. FIRST difference was I did dredge my chops in flour and shook off any excess. I had seasoned my flour with onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper. I salted the chops just a bit before dredging in the flour as well. I put PLENTY of butter in the skillet, and sauteed 2 cloves of garlic prior to throwing in the chops. DON'T be afraid to cook those chopes JUST 3-4 minutes on 1 side, flip and repeat and youre done!! Then cover those babies with some foil and set them aside. they will be PERFECT! Next, I threw in a good amount of mushrooms right into the pan I just used for the chops. I gave several liberal shakes of worcestershire to cover the shrooms. Sauteed them for about 10 minutes until they were getting nice and soft and the worcestershire sauce reduced a good bit. Oh - and I added a splash of white wine to the mushrooms as well, so I let that cook off a bit. THEN, I eyeballed my heavy cream and my blue cheese. I stirred, let it simmer for a bit, stirred a whole lot more (and taste tested repeatedly..) - then covered with a lid. It probably simmered about 10 minutes or so. All I can say is WOW. The gravy MADE the pork chops just phenomenal!! yum, yum! We had oven-baked potatoes with chives, sour cream, cheese, bacon bits as a side. A fantastic, comfort-food meal that will for SURE be repeated in the near future. MAKE THIS NOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I am writing this review after finishing the left-overs. Last night I was a bit sceptical to this recipe - sounded to easy to make something good. I was wrong! It was easy but also very tasty. I have done all as the recipe tells you to. Took few ides from other readers for site dishes - sauté mushrooms and oven backed potatoes. However, those who made the substitutes or put meat on BBQ - you will never get that special taste of the sauce if you do not have the fat from fried meat in the pan. Do not make another common mistake of putting starch to thicken out sauce. 5 minutes in not quite enough, cook it for at least 7 minutes and leave stand to few minutes after. Amazing! My family gets quite spoiled with home made food, but even then this recipe was a big hit. Can not wait to serve it for the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Don't let the simplicity of this recipe turn you away! It's easy and quick, and simply delicious! I'm so glad I found it and tried it. I added mushrooms to it, and served it with a light summer salad and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Truly terrific! Tastes fabulous, easy to make and low carb - doesn't get any better than that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I love this recipie. It sounds odd, but I added a few drops of smoke flavor to the chops while they were cooking, which has a beautiful effect on the gravy in the end. Sauteed mushrooms to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made the recipe exact but didn't care for the sauce. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a wonderful dish. The whole family loves it. We didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
WOW........this was so delicious. My father has cancer and I'm trying to "fatten" him up so this recipe was perfect. After pan frying the chops I sauteed mushrooms and a little brown onion in the same pan and then made the gravy. You definitely want to undercook the chops a teeny bit since they sit and continue cooking out of the pan while you are making the gravy. I did, and they were perfectly moist and tender. Everyone had seconds of just the gravy poured over a big helping of rice. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a wonderfully yummy and easy recipe! I have made this for a few guests and it gets rave reviews! Adding a little more blue cheese doesn't harm the recipe either, so if you love it, just add a bit more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States