Pork Chops with Blackberry Port Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The only thing I did differently (here we go changing things) was to add some minced garlic to the recipe, the rest I did according to the author. My biggest problem with this was having to pause to go "mmm" after every bite. The taste was absolutely outstanding. The combination of port, blackberries and pork is a marriage made in heaven! My compliments to the author, this was genius and could easily be a "signature" dish in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Robinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This dish was fantastic, I'm not a huge fan of pan fried Pork chops so, I BBQ'd the chops and then put them in the blackberry sauce. I also added a few more shallots, which gave the sauce a bit more substance. All in all, this recipe was fast, easy and delicious. kudos to the author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fight the Fat Foodie
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Lots of great flavors in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fight the Fat Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Just had this for dinner. It was a surprisingly better than I thought it would be. I used some blackberry jam I've had for months and wine that has been sitting on my counter for weeks! Don't overcook your pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GloryChoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Fantastic!!Blackberries: what a complimentary flavor! I didn't have balckberry juice, so I used white grape. My super-finicky 11-year-old son even loved it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Great Recipe!! I very rarely make the same recipe twice, just because there are so many different thing to try. But my husband actually requested this be made again- we're already thinking up different dishes to use the sauce in. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the onions, and used grape juice/lime juice & zest in place of the port wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbmckay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
My only "complaint" is that I would have preferred a much thicker sauce. Taste was great -- not as tangy as I thought it would be, but that's not a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyeRishGrl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were incredible! My husband and two boys (14 and 11) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
The blackberries PERFECTLY compliment the pork chops. Everything went together. We had awful trouble finding blackberry juice, and used blueberry juice instead. If you had handed me a glass, and asked me to tell you what it was, I would've said blackberry juice! Very good suggestion. A step I will skip next time: The corn starch paste. It looked like tiny worms were swimming in the sauce, and I just picked them out. Didn't use thyme either because I didn't have it on hand. My husband loved it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarineWifey20

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I was skeptical at first (as I always am about mixing fruits in main dishes) but it turned out great! Also I'm not old enough to buy wine so I had to substitute concord grape juice and it worked fine. I saved the extra sauce and am planning to use it on chicken tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States