Pork Chops with Basil and Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I love this I did not bake it in the oven I cooked it on the stove I added butter also and chicken broth to cut into the wine taste. I added mushrooms. I cooked noodles with it using onions and chicken broth in the noodles. I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I didn't have enough garlic salt, and substituted Lawry's low sodium season salt and I added 2 teaspoons black pepper. I browned the pork chops in an iron frying pan. I had fresh basil and sliced it thin. I added 1/2 pound of sliced Portobello mushrooms. I placed the iron cover on the pan instead of foil. I let the chops bake for 30 minutes poured the Marsala wine over it all, and bumped the oven temperature up to 450. I let the chops simmer for 10 minutes and removed the cover for 5-10 more minutes. The chops were done completely and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
The only change I made was to bake the chops for only 30 minutes (instead of 45) before adding the wine, and they were fully cooked. I only used 2 pork chops since it's just my husband and me, but we both enjoyed them. They were juicy and tender, and overall very easy, if a little time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
We absolutely love this recipe, and have made it multiple times. I stumbled upon it while searching for recipes to use up our abundance of freash basil, which is the only modification I made to the original recipe. Be sure to use thick chops, and use good marsala wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These are very tasty! Fresh tasting with the basil and marsala wine. I followed the recipe, other than using a fresh basil paste other than dry. I did change the cooking time to about 20 minutes and then another 15 with the marsala wine. I used boneless chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
The good thing about these chops is that they were tender. The bad thing was that they were bland. I may try them one more time, but I would most definitely marinate them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Outstanding flavor and so easy to make. Only difference is the baking time. Using a package of 3 store bought 1/2 inch pork chops I browned the pork chops and only baked them for 15 minutes @ 350 degrees and they were perfect. I would even think 45 min. for the 1 inch chops is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This came out great. I used wheat flour, garlic salt and pepper. Used fresh basil and about 1t. lemon juice. I didn't put them in the oven. Browned them on the stove and then added the chopped fresh basil on top of every chop. Put in the wine, lemon juice and a tiny bit of water so they wouldn't dry. This came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
easy and flavorful. pork chops come out very tender. would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this recipe! For our anniversary last year I wanted to make something special. I spent hours going through recipes to find that "perfect recipe". This is it! I used a pork tenderloin because I love it and I had some fresh mushrooms that I threw in when I added the marsala because I needed to use them up (and we love mushrooms). It was perfect! I have made this many times at the request of my family - they love it. My mother-in-law liked it so much she asked ME for the recipe! You've got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States