Pork Chops with Basil and Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I love this I did not bake it in the oven I cooked it on the stove I added butter also and chicken broth to cut into the wine taste. I added mushrooms. I cooked noodles with it using onions and chicken broth in the noodles. I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I didn't have enough garlic salt, and substituted Lawry's low sodium season salt and I added 2 teaspoons black pepper. I browned the pork chops in an iron frying pan. I had fresh basil and sliced it thin. I added 1/2 pound of sliced Portobello mushrooms. I placed the iron cover on the pan instead of foil. I let the chops bake for 30 minutes poured the Marsala wine over it all, and bumped the oven temperature up to 450. I let the chops simmer for 10 minutes and removed the cover for 5-10 more minutes. The chops were done completely and were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
The only change I made was to bake the chops for only 30 minutes (instead of 45) before adding the wine, and they were fully cooked. I only used 2 pork chops since it's just my husband and me, but we both enjoyed them. They were juicy and tender, and overall very easy, if a little time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
We absolutely love this recipe, and have made it multiple times. I stumbled upon it while searching for recipes to use up our abundance of freash basil, which is the only modification I made to the original recipe. Be sure to use thick chops, and use good marsala wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
These are very tasty! Fresh tasting with the basil and marsala wine. I followed the recipe, other than using a fresh basil paste other than dry. I did change the cooking time to about 20 minutes and then another 15 with the marsala wine. I used boneless chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
The good thing about these chops is that they were tender. The bad thing was that they were bland. I may try them one more time, but I would most definitely marinate them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Outstanding flavor and so easy to make. Only difference is the baking time. Using a package of 3 store bought 1/2 inch pork chops I browned the pork chops and only baked them for 15 minutes @ 350 degrees and they were perfect. I would even think 45 min. for the 1 inch chops is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This came out great. I used wheat flour, garlic salt and pepper. Used fresh basil and about 1t. lemon juice. I didn't put them in the oven. Browned them on the stove and then added the chopped fresh basil on top of every chop. Put in the wine, lemon juice and a tiny bit of water so they wouldn't dry. This came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
easy and flavorful. pork chops come out very tender. would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this recipe! For our anniversary last year I wanted to make something special. I spent hours going through recipes to find that "perfect recipe". This is it! I used a pork tenderloin because I love it and I had some fresh mushrooms that I threw in when I added the marsala because I needed to use them up (and we love mushrooms). It was perfect! I have made this many times at the request of my family - they love it. My mother-in-law liked it so much she asked ME for the recipe! You've got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States