Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I've made this twice now - the first time as per the recipe and it was nice (would have been 3-4 stars). The second time I poured a half cup of white wine over the potato, onion and apple layers and sprinkled with a tsp of dried thyme - and I also added a tablespoon of caraway seeds to the sauerkraut. I then cooked it long and slow in my oven and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was incredibly delicious! It was my first attempt at pork chops, but the recipe was so simple that it came out fantastic! I added a bit more brown sugar to mine (about twice the recipe calls for, and added an extra sweet potatoe, because two didn't seem enough. I think next time I will use apples with a more tart taste. Definately on my top ten list of recipes I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
The ingredients listed didn't sound to me like they would taste good all together in one dish, but this was delicious! I added a little cinnamon with the nutmeg, and sprinkled some onion powder on the pork chops after I browned them in butter, then poured a little white wine over the whole thing before cooking it. The meat was super tender and the vegetables/apples had a wonderful mellow comfort-food flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I ended up adding one cup of chicken broth to this about three hours into cooking. I was a bit concerned that the potatoes were not getting cooked through because of a lack of liquid. After five hours, and the extra broth, the potatoes were indeed done, and the dish was tasty. Great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
The flavors in this recipe are fantastic! Definitely one that will be made frequently in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for New Year's Day 2011! It was fabulous. I did a few things a little different. I didn't have time for the crock pot so I used my cast iron dutch oven. I used a little more brown sugar and added 2 cloves of garlic. Sprinkled sage on the pork chops, added caraway seeds and about another tbsp brown sugar to the sauerkraut after rinsing and squeezing it to get the sour juice out,,,and then put about 3 tbsp thinly sliced butter pats on top of the sauerkraut and then poured about 1/4 cup Reisling wine. Cooked at 250 degrees for 3 hours and it was fantastic. The pork chops were super tender, the flavors of everything else were super complimentary. I am going to make this a New Year Tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by werseabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Excellent, the sweet and sour combination of the sweet potatoes, apples and sauerkraut was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I added extra sugar because my husband doesn't like the sourness of sauerkraut. The apples cooked up a little more than we liked but I will just slice them thicker next time. The taste was very good and my husband even liked the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a very flavorful dish, sweet and sour combined. The apples, sweet potatoes and sauerkraut joined together in taste which made it difficult to separate each without looking. But outside of that, very good. The pork was super tender and tasty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe. Something different and the tastes of the sweet pototoes, onions and apples with a hint of sweet with the saurkraut is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States