Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Excellent, the sweet and sour combination of the sweet potatoes, apples and sauerkraut was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I've made this twice now - the first time as per the recipe and it was nice (would have been 3-4 stars). The second time I poured a half cup of white wine over the potato, onion and apple layers and sprinkled with a tsp of dried thyme - and I also added a tablespoon of caraway seeds to the sauerkraut. I then cooked it long and slow in my oven and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
The flavors in this recipe are fantastic! Definitely one that will be made frequently in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Browned pork in a cast iron pot, removed, added other ingredients, covered and baked in oven for 60 minutes at 400 degrees. That was too high a temp/too long of a cooking time; chops were a little dry. Added wine as another reviewer did; still not enough 'juice' for us. We loved it: Very tasty. My fiance' kept saying, "This is good." Next time I will add more fresh sauerkraut & apples (which cooked down quite a bit; he dislikes apples but loved the flavour they added). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
very dry ,husband hated it but he hates a lot of things. i will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I'm sorry but this just wasn't for us. I added 5 times the brown sugar called for and it still had a vinegary taste. 2 stars because the potatoes came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I wasn't crazy about this dish. The potatoes needed more time to cook as they were not completely done. I would definitely not add the sauercraut next time as it took away from the taste of the potatoes and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is a great recipe. Something different and the tastes of the sweet pototoes, onions and apples with a hint of sweet with the saurkraut is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
The ingredients listed didn't sound to me like they would taste good all together in one dish, but this was delicious! I added a little cinnamon with the nutmeg, and sprinkled some onion powder on the pork chops after I browned them in butter, then poured a little white wine over the whole thing before cooking it. The meat was super tender and the vegetables/apples had a wonderful mellow comfort-food flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
the pork soaked in the sauerkraut juices and that part was really good. the sweet potatoes did nothing for me, and the apples turned to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States