Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
it was ok but won't make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
There was nothing about this recipe that I or my family enjoyed. I love all of the ingredients but it just didn't work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was incredibly delicious! It was my first attempt at pork chops, but the recipe was so simple that it came out fantastic! I added a bit more brown sugar to mine (about twice the recipe calls for, and added an extra sweet potatoe, because two didn't seem enough. I think next time I will use apples with a more tart taste. Definately on my top ten list of recipes I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wonderful, tender, quick meal. The apples added the perfect compliment to the Sauerkraut. This is almost a once a weeker. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I did not like this recipe at all. I thought the pork chops were rather dry,I didn't like the saurkraut and the apples and last but not least the sweet potatoes were mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
A good recipe if you like sauerkraut. The pork was very tender and tasted good after 5.5 hr on low. I used 4 boneless butterfly loin chops weighing about 2lb. I also used Granny Smith apples and cut them 1/2 inch thick, and were pretty well intact at the end of things. I found the sweet potatoes to be too mushy for my taste, though. This may have been because I added ~1 cup of white wine 3 hours in, as suggested by a previous review. I liked the taste though, and next time will cut the sweet potatoes a bit thicker. Overall, very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I added extra sugar because my husband doesn't like the sourness of sauerkraut. The apples cooked up a little more than we liked but I will just slice them thicker next time. The taste was very good and my husband even liked the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I ended up adding one cup of chicken broth to this about three hours into cooking. I was a bit concerned that the potatoes were not getting cooked through because of a lack of liquid. After five hours, and the extra broth, the potatoes were indeed done, and the dish was tasty. Great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
the pork soaked in the sauerkraut juices and that part was really good. the sweet potatoes did nothing for me, and the apples turned to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
The ingredients listed didn't sound to me like they would taste good all together in one dish, but this was delicious! I added a little cinnamon with the nutmeg, and sprinkled some onion powder on the pork chops after I browned them in butter, then poured a little white wine over the whole thing before cooking it. The meat was super tender and the vegetables/apples had a wonderful mellow comfort-food flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States