Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
While I really enjoyed this recipe, I think I’ll tweak it a bit the next time I make it. I opted for the oven option… which might have led to the sweet potatoes not getting as soft as I’d like. All in all, a great idea. Thanks, RCKim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
instead of apples, I used apple sauce and poured it over the sauerkraut. then i sprinkled about 1/4 cup sugar over it and baked in a 9 X 14 @350 for about 1 hr. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NELANNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I found that even after 6 hours the sweet potatoes and onion had not softened (they were crunchy!) I added 1/2 cup white wine like one reviewer suggested. I had made this dinner to eat before going to the theater with my wife. Because vegetables were not done, I left it cooking while we were at the theater. Came home and ate it, and it was delicious. Pork chops very moist and tender (cut with fork). Vegetables were soft, but not mush. All in all, it cooked 10 hours. Next time I make it (and there will be a next time) 10 hours is what I'm planning on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
the saurkraut makes the apples bitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lamartine, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I made this according to the recipe, except I added a little cinnamon per previous reviewer. The pork chops were good and very tender. The sweet potatoes were OK. The apples cooked to mush. Overall it was just weird to me. I like all the ingredients but they did not work together. My husband was not a fan either. I will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Enjoyable flavor but pork seems to dry out in the slow cooker no matter how short/long I keep them cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Everyone in my family loved this recipe! One of my favorites off of this website. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
it was ok but won't make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Jefferson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
There was nothing about this recipe that I or my family enjoyed. I love all of the ingredients but it just didn't work together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This was incredibly delicious! It was my first attempt at pork chops, but the recipe was so simple that it came out fantastic! I added a bit more brown sugar to mine (about twice the recipe calls for, and added an extra sweet potatoe, because two didn't seem enough. I think next time I will use apples with a more tart taste. Definately on my top ten list of recipes I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States