Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I was looking for an easy slow cooker recipe and love to try new things - this looked interesting. I have never cooked raw sweet potatoes before and this recipe was awesome! My husband I both loved it and will definitely make it again. I also poured a cup of white wine over the top. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. Bland, tough, unappetizing. We had PBJ's for dinner. Much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I don't even like saurkraut, but this was delicious!!! I have already made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was a nice change from my regular potato/kraut recipe. I added an extra sweet potato and apple, added cinnamon and a little more nutmeg and put in 1/4 cup brown sugar rather than 1T. Also, if you don't like tart sauerkraut, rinse it off in a collander before putting it in the recipe. I also added 1 1/2 cups apple juice before cooking this because I wanted more moisture. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
THIS RECIPE WAS ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL. MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVE IT. THE BLEND OF THE APPLES,SWEET POTATOES AND ONIONS MADE THE ROAST PORK VERY NICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackied79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I really didnt think this would be good but we really liked it. My husband says its nice to have something different. I use a little less krout and a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rider

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The sauerkraut just took over everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a very flavorful dish, sweet and sour combined. The apples, sweet potatoes and sauerkraut joined together in taste which made it difficult to separate each without looking. But outside of that, very good. The pork was super tender and tasty. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Good flavors, but something went terribly awry with my chops and the texture was not good. Might try it again in the oven instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ModernSteph
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This turned out awful - the sauerkraut I used was way too sour and I used Granny Smith apples I had on hand in addition. I was really disappointed. The amount of sugar was too low in my opinion. Sweet potatoes also took a lot longer to cook and tasted bland (or my tastebuds got killed by all the sour). If I ever make it again (my husband says no), I'll use very sweet apples for the recipe, and more sugar. I also think I'll skip the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States