Pork Chops with Apples, Sweet Potatoes, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was just fine. It was somewhat good, but I probably wouldn't make it again. I added extra seasonings, like sage and mustard powder, and also added about half a bottle of beer to the crock pot. And it was just okay! I did have to cook mine longer than 5 hours - actually, I went 7 hours and turned it on high for one hour, just to make sure the sweet potatoes were done. Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Yes! Baked kraut is very mellow in the end. I like pork steak better than chops, but a roasting cut of pork, like a shoulder, is sublime. This same recipe works well with country-style ribs, too. When I was a kid, I worked in a German restaurant for a while, and they lightly rinsed their kraut then put a healthy squeeze of lemon over it along with the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I loved the combination. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Was missing something. I add the wine and caraway seeds but the flavor wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I did like this dish and I will make it again. The pork chop came out perfectly cooked and not dry. I baked in oven for 2 hours at 300 in my Lodge cast iron dutch oven, but I microwaved potato slices first 4min. since I was not sure of doneness and I browned my chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
there is no liquid in this recipe...of course it is dry add a can of broth or a dry soup packet with water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I didn't love this dish. I followed the recipe, and it came out a little tangy, and strange. Not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This has become a regular meal in our house. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
added 1/2 cup wine. really good. will try with some thyme next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
The perfect mix of sweet and sour. I love sauerkraut and this dish was amazing. I did not brown the pork chops because I'm lazy :) Still turned out very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States