Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I didn't see that anyone else had suggested this, but I did this recipe in my slow-cooker. I put the sweet potatoes on the botom, since they take the longest. Then I put a layer of onions and apples, then the chops, then another layer of onion and apples. On each layer i lightly dusted with salt and pepper and then sprinkled with a brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg mix - probably used double-triple the amt of brown sugar called for. I cooked it on medium for about 5 1/2 hours. It turned out GREAT. The pork really soaked in the flavor since it was sandwiched between the onion and apples(used golden delicious, by the way, sliced thick, and the texture was perfect). The flavor of this was perfect for an autumn evening - I love this combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would - but that was on my second try. The first try was a bit of a disaster but still tasted terrific. I'd like to pass on what I learned: The amount of ingredients were on the mark, except for the pepper. 1)make sure you slice the onion and sweet potatoes very thin - they will then cook within the hr. 2) Cut the apples thicker - not too thick - since they take a shorter amt of time to cook (if too thin they will turn to mush) 3) Use the "GRANULATED" brown suger (I used the old fashioned kind the first time and it wouldn't melt - the pepper got stuck in the sugar - I had to mush in down - not a pretty sight!). I also cut back on the pepper the second time - we love pepper, especially on sweet potatoes but found that 1 tsp. was sufficient). I cooked this in a corningware baking dish with cover and the second time it was a pretty presentation and everyone loved it. It is fun and easy to prepare. One pork chop per serving is not enough in my house!!! Believe it or not - it is a light meal. You might want to serve a salad with it since some were looking for a third chop! The pork really picks up the juices while it is cooking. This is a keeper and a really quick meal - thanks Ashbeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
My family enjoyed this recipe a lot. Instead of sprinkling the chops with salt and pepper, I used Morton's Seasoning Salt, which is a nice blend of seasonings. I did mix cinnamon with the sugar and made a little more than what is called for. Next time I would not use the onions. My family did not think the onions blended well with the sweet potatoes and apples. I also did not season the casserole with the 2 tsp. of pepper and the 1 tsp of salt. Somehow I didn't think that would go well with the sugared potatoes and apple slices. I would suggest that if you make this recipe, you microwave the sliced sweet potatoes for a couple minutes to give them a head start in cooking. I found the potatoes were a little hard and the meat a little overdone, following the recipe. I think if you started the potatoes, you could cook this recipe for about 45 minutes and get juicier chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I added a half cup of water to the pan before baking so the pork chops wouldn't dry out, and they were so moist and tender. Also, I had to bake them for an extra 15 minutes or so because the potatoes were still crunchy. I recommend tossing the apples, onions, potatoes, and seasonings together before putting them over the pork chops because all of the seasonings stayed on the top and I had a layer of veggies/fruit that were way too seasoned and a layer without seasonings. Last thing, add a little bit of garlic powder to the pork chops before putting them in the pan, it really adds a nice flavor. This was a HUGE hit with my family and they beg me to make it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
We Loved this. I browned the chops and onions frist. Then I whisked balsamic vinegar, maple syrup, brown sugar and mustard then poured it over everything. I also nuked the sweet potaoes for 2 min before I put them in the dish to give them a head start. I cooked it for 30 min. delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was an excellent use of both pork chops (in this case, boneless loin chops) and sweet potatoes. I did adapt the recipe slightly, partly based on earlier comments, and the result brought raves from my non-pork-fan husband. First, I dredged the chops in a flour/salt/pepper mixture and browned them in a small amount of margarine in the frying pan. I then layered the onions, potatoes and apples twice, dusting each layer with salt, pepper, brown sugar and cinnamon. I sprinkled the top with nutmeg, and drizzled 1/2 - 1 cup apple cider over all. I then covered the pan and slow-baked it for slightly more than 2 hours at 325 degrees. The result was a fabulous dinner, with tender meat and perfectly done potatoes and apples. We were very happy with the experiment; my husband's final comment was, "Well, this sure is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
We loved this recipe. It was a breeze to put together and was simply delicious. I did brown the chops before baking. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was so good, even my fiance who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate it up. Here are the changes I made: 1) I placed the chops in a glass 9 x 13 dish 2) I cooked the whole sweet potatoes in the microwave (after washing and poking holes) for about 4 minutes, then peeled the skin off and chopped 3) I only used 1 onion 4) I put the sweet potato, onion, and apple in a big bowl and mixed it with the brown sugar, a small bit of pepper, and a few good grinds of sea salt. The aroma of this cooking was amazing. This was a great dish for the first day of fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I tried this one last night and it was a hit, HOWEVER, I had help from 2 grandchildren (6 & 13) who were in charge of the brown sugar - also added cinamon, nutmeg, ground cloves - then were surprised when the apples tasted like apple pie! There was none left and there were only 3 of us! Will definitely make again when they are here and if they can remember their part of the recipe (smile). Grateful grandmother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The only reason this got four stars was because it simply served as a "spring board" for me in creating an awesome autumn dinner. I took this basic idea and completely modified it for a slow cooker. First, I mixed the onion, apples (chunked instead of rings), 1/2 cup dried chopped cherries, and two stalks celery with 1 teaspoon cinnamon, ¼ teaspoon nutmeg, and 2 Tablespoons brown sugar. Next, I layered the sweet potatoes at the bottom of the slow cooker and lightly sprinkled them with some more cinnamon and brown sugar. I poured half of the first mixture over the potatoes. Salt and pepper pork on both sides and lay atop the apple/onion/cherry/celery mixture in the slow cooker. I poured the remainder of the apple/onion/cherry/celery mixture on the top of the pork. Finally, I dumped about 1 cup of apple cider over the contents of the slow cooker and cooked on low for about 6-7hours. This assembly took only 15minutes and I had an amazing, juicy dinner that was perfect with a huge hunk of challah bread from the local bakery to soak up the sweet/savory juice. My mom was shocked that she had arrived at my house after a 6hour drive before me since I had work until 7pm, and at 7:30 I had such an awesome dinner on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States