Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this exactly as written. I used bone in chops and only one sweet potato because it was large, but 2 apples and 2 onions. This was a great one pot dish and I think I would make it again with some adjustments. I thought it could have used a little more spice. It was a little heavy on the pepper as written, but I adjusted for our taste. I think next time I might add a little bit more of the brown sugar and maybe a touch of maple syrup being careful not to make it to sweet. My chops and potatoes were completely done in the hour time frame and the chops were pretty moist and tender which was a bonus for us. Thanks Ashbeth for the recipe I'm sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was soooo tasty!! I didnt have pork chops so I used chicken breasts instead and it was still really good. I only used 1tsp of pepper. There was a ton of juice left in the bottom of the dish. No need for water with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Korba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Easy and comes out extremely delicious - hard to mess up! I followed the advice of some fellow reviewers - tossed the onions, sweet potatoes and apples in about 1 tsp of brown sugar individually before putting on top of porkchops. Used a ceramic baking dish and it turned out great! Also poured 1/2 cup of water into the pan before putting it into the oven. Kept everything moist and delicious! Amazing taste, great recipe, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinethsu
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Used the slow cooker as well with a few modifications for a sweet/sour flavor. Bottom layer of sweet potatoes along with about 1/4 cup of cider vinegar. Next added pork chops seasoned with salt and 1 tsp of black pepper. On top of chops layered sliced apples and onions sprinkled with granulated brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Finally another splash of cider vinegar over the top apple/onion layer. Cooked in the crockpot on high 5 hours. Flavor was awesome! 4 stars vs 5 stars because the pork chops were a tiny bit dry. Will probably try loin chops instead of center cut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WOW! This was DELICIOUS! This is definitely one of my new favorites. After reading the reviews, I made just a few changes. Before placing the pork loins in the dish, I put about a 1/4 cup of water in the bottom to make sure they didn't dry out. I added garlic salt to the pork loins, and sprinkled cinnamon on top of all the ingredients before putting in the oven. I didn't see that the apples were supposed to be cut in rounds until I had already cut them all into slices. This worked just fine. I cooked this is glass cookware and used aluminum foil with holes poked in it for the cover. This was so easy and came out so great! I will make it again and again. Next time I will try it in a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Like others after reading the reviews I decided to do this in the slow cooker. I added celery and red onion and about 1/3 cup of apple juice to remove the pan drippings after browing the chops. I also added the apples on top of all other ingredients after they had been in an hour, this helped keep them from becoming to mushy...My husband raved about this and he is usually pesimistic about new recipes. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I've used this recipe several times and now it is definitely one of my "go to" recipes because of the easiness and convenience. I use a cast iron skillet to cook the turkey chops in (yes, I use turkey and it is just as good!) and then I layer the apple, onion and sweet potato on top, cover with foil and put the cast iron skillet right in the oven. Yum! Thanks for this one, also the simplicity makes it easy to add or modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I wasn't such a fan of the onion in this recipe so I ended up just pushing the onion to the side. The rest of the tastes were great! I ended up cooking my pork chops in a 9 x 13 glass dish since I don't have any oven-safe pans. I put about 1/4 cup water in the dish, seasoned the chops with a little salt & pepper and placed them in the dish. Then in a bowl I put the onion, apple, and sweet potatoes (I used canned, drained) in a bowl and added the brown sugar and a little cinnamon. I then put the apple mixture over the chops and covered the dish with some foil and baked in a 375 oven for 45 minutes. The consistency of everything came out perfect! I would definitely make this again (minus the onion). Good meal for a rainy day or cool Fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I liked this. The flavor of the onion, sweet potato and apple was really good. The apples were a little mushy for me so next time I might add them later so they'll be a little firmer. I added much less pepper. I'd like to try this in the crock pot. Really good one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This recipe is similar to one I have already, but I liked the idea of adding sweet potatoes to the mix. So I tried it in the crockpot, as someone else suggested...and REALLY loved it. I think to keep the chops juicy, it's best to brown them on both sides first. But then, I just did the layers as suggested and it turned out great. Red onion actually works the best in this recipe, IMHO, because they are sweeter and less 'oniony' when cooked. So those who don't like a potent onion flavor should try just using red onion and maybe cutting back on the amount, a little. Really, the red onions add so much. Served this with a side salad and it was a big hit! NO LEFTOVERS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States