Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I liked this. The flavor of the onion, sweet potato and apple was really good. The apples were a little mushy for me so next time I might add them later so they'll be a little firmer. I added much less pepper. I'd like to try this in the crock pot. Really good one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This recipe is similar to one I have already, but I liked the idea of adding sweet potatoes to the mix. So I tried it in the crockpot, as someone else suggested...and REALLY loved it. I think to keep the chops juicy, it's best to brown them on both sides first. But then, I just did the layers as suggested and it turned out great. Red onion actually works the best in this recipe, IMHO, because they are sweeter and less 'oniony' when cooked. So those who don't like a potent onion flavor should try just using red onion and maybe cutting back on the amount, a little. Really, the red onions add so much. Served this with a side salad and it was a big hit! NO LEFTOVERS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I actually didn't try this, but I made it for my husband when I was out one night and he said, "eh." Nothing to write home about, apparently. I was bummed because it sounded healthy. I think it needed more spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I have made this a couple of time now using Jonagold apples each time. The FIRST time I used the method and recommendation from “CookinNurse.” Using the slow cooker, putting the Sweet potatoes on the bottom as they take the longest. Then I put a layer of onions and apples, then the chops, then another layer of onion and apples. Dusting each layer lightly with salt and pepper then sprinkled with the brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg mix. After peeling and coring the apples I cut them into large bites/chunks. I cooked it on high for about 4 1/12 hours and it was wonderful. My husband has asked for these again and said they may be the best chops he has ever had. My teenage sons liked the pork chops and apples; they don’t care for sweet potatoes. The SECOND time I used this recipe I did it in the oven because it was too late in the day to use the slow the cooker, it was still good but not as impressive. I definitely recommend using the slow cooker. It is that much better. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Very good but the pork chops were a little dry. Next time I will brine them first. Great combination of flavors and add a salad and you have a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very Good! I cut the amount of onion in half and seared the pork before baking as seen in other reviews. Next time I think I'll try a tenderloin and throw in some dried cherries! This is an easy, all in one great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This receipe was fantastic. I fixed it last night with fried yellow potatoes and it was a big hit. My husband has high bp so I have to go easy on the salt, so added some italian spices and the flavor just popped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
we liked this alot. The only thing I changed was I sauted everything before I put it into the oven adding a little pepper and brown sugar then and the rest when I baked it. It made a lovely sauce at the bottom of the pan. Next time I will either cook for a shorter time or cut the sweet potatoes into larger pieces, they were slightly over cooked. Otherwise VERY VERY TASTY! And looks pretty on a serving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Fixed it last night & it was a hit- no leftovers! The only thing I did different was brown the chops in a large skillet, then added all the other ingredients plus a cup of apple juice & let it simmer. Came out very tender and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
.not my taste at all! If you like onions you may like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leatha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States