Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
WONDERFUL and different from same old porkchops... I used a casserole dish to make...starting with one potato layer, onion, salt and peppered, sweet potato layer, apple layer, sweet potato layer (used one russett potato, 2 sweet potatoes and 1 red delicious apple) placed pork chops on top, covered dish and baked at 375 for about an hour-delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was great, I added 1/2 cup orange juice so it wouldn't stick to the pan, but I didn't need to, it made its own juice. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
terrific as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is just like another recipe on here, but the other recipe is in a slow cooker and has sauerkraut with caraway seeds. If you are feeling too lazy to core apples, try using a can of apple pie filling instead. I think this recipe (and the very similar slow cooker recipe) works best with boneless pork chops or pork tenderloin. I didn't like it as much with a pork shoulder roast. But overall, very good recipe. Everyone I know loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
YUMYUM! I followed the suggestions to toss the apples, sweet potatoes and onions with probably 2 TBS of brown sugar as well as add about 1/2 cup of water to the pan. I used my mandolin for the onion and sweet potato and my apple corer/peeler/slicer for the apples. Everything was about the same thickness. I only used about half of an onion, 3 small apples, and 1 large sweet potato. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
we have had this meal twice my family really like's it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I made this exactly as written. I used bone in chops and only one sweet potato because it was large, but 2 apples and 2 onions. This was a great one pot dish and I think I would make it again with some adjustments. I thought it could have used a little more spice. It was a little heavy on the pepper as written, but I adjusted for our taste. I think next time I might add a little bit more of the brown sugar and maybe a touch of maple syrup being careful not to make it to sweet. My chops and potatoes were completely done in the hour time frame and the chops were pretty moist and tender which was a bonus for us. Thanks Ashbeth for the recipe I'm sure I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was soooo tasty!! I didnt have pork chops so I used chicken breasts instead and it was still really good. I only used 1tsp of pepper. There was a ton of juice left in the bottom of the dish. No need for water with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOKORBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Easy and comes out extremely delicious - hard to mess up! I followed the advice of some fellow reviewers - tossed the onions, sweet potatoes and apples in about 1 tsp of brown sugar individually before putting on top of porkchops. Used a ceramic baking dish and it turned out great! Also poured 1/2 cup of water into the pan before putting it into the oven. Kept everything moist and delicious! Amazing taste, great recipe, would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinethsu
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Used the slow cooker as well with a few modifications for a sweet/sour flavor. Bottom layer of sweet potatoes along with about 1/4 cup of cider vinegar. Next added pork chops seasoned with salt and 1 tsp of black pepper. On top of chops layered sliced apples and onions sprinkled with granulated brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Finally another splash of cider vinegar over the top apple/onion layer. Cooked in the crockpot on high 5 hours. Flavor was awesome! 4 stars vs 5 stars because the pork chops were a tiny bit dry. Will probably try loin chops instead of center cut next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States