Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I had high hopes for this dish, but it did not turn out well. The pork was over cooked, the vegetables were undercooked and the apples were the only thing that turned out well. While I liked the flavors together, the pork didn't absorb any of the flavors from the pan drippings and ultimately I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made this in the slow cooker like first comment on page. It was a little sweet and cooking it on high for six hours made it too mushy. Next time we'll try cooking it on high for only 4 hours. I also sprinkled a little nutmeg on the top and, when it was all done, I put sage on the potato/apple mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
For sweet potato and apple lovers, this is a perfect dinner!! I agree with another reviewer to place the apples, onion and sweet potatoes in a large bowl and stir together with all the spices, along with a small drizzle of olive oil to help the spices to stick. also, .i left the apples unreeled and they he led keep their shape, not to mention saving the extra nutrients. Make a pan sauce with the liquid left in the pan and dollop each serving with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This dish was delish. The apple, onion and sweet potato gave the pork an amazing taste. Sunch an easy meal to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really enjoyed this dish. Was easy, pretty healthy and tasty although I will add more seasoning next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was absolutely fabulous!! It was perfectly simple. I just added salt and pepper to the chops then layered the apple, pots and onions and sprinkled each layer with brown sugar and cinnamon. The pork chops were super tender and delicious. also I did slice the veggies thin so that everything was tender and juicy after one hour. this will def. be on our table often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catherine white

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The only reason this got four stars was because it simply served as a "spring board" for me in creating an awesome autumn dinner. I took this basic idea and completely modified it for a slow cooker. First, I mixed the onion, apples (chunked instead of rings), 1/2 cup dried chopped cherries, and two stalks celery with 1 teaspoon cinnamon, ¼ teaspoon nutmeg, and 2 Tablespoons brown sugar. Next, I layered the sweet potatoes at the bottom of the slow cooker and lightly sprinkled them with some more cinnamon and brown sugar. I poured half of the first mixture over the potatoes. Salt and pepper pork on both sides and lay atop the apple/onion/cherry/celery mixture in the slow cooker. I poured the remainder of the apple/onion/cherry/celery mixture on the top of the pork. Finally, I dumped about 1 cup of apple cider over the contents of the slow cooker and cooked on low for about 6-7hours. This assembly took only 15minutes and I had an amazing, juicy dinner that was perfect with a huge hunk of challah bread from the local bakery to soak up the sweet/savory juice. My mom was shocked that she had arrived at my house after a 6hour drive before me since I had work until 7pm, and at 7:30 I had such an awesome dinner on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wonderful blend of flavors in this recipe! Culled some suggestions from other reviews such as omitting some of the pepper and adding some cinnamon and loved the way it all came together. My family thinks it is a winnner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was so good, even my fiance who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate it up. Here are the changes I made: 1) I placed the chops in a glass 9 x 13 dish 2) I cooked the whole sweet potatoes in the microwave (after washing and poking holes) for about 4 minutes, then peeled the skin off and chopped 3) I only used 1 onion 4) I put the sweet potato, onion, and apple in a big bowl and mixed it with the brown sugar, a small bit of pepper, and a few good grinds of sea salt. The aroma of this cooking was amazing. This was a great dish for the first day of fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this in the crock pot, and layered the ingredients. I also added about a half teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States