Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This dish was delish. The apple, onion and sweet potato gave the pork an amazing taste. Sunch an easy meal to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really enjoyed this dish. Was easy, pretty healthy and tasty although I will add more seasoning next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was absolutely fabulous!! It was perfectly simple. I just added salt and pepper to the chops then layered the apple, pots and onions and sprinkled each layer with brown sugar and cinnamon. The pork chops were super tender and delicious. also I did slice the veggies thin so that everything was tender and juicy after one hour. this will def. be on our table often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catherine white

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
The only reason this got four stars was because it simply served as a "spring board" for me in creating an awesome autumn dinner. I took this basic idea and completely modified it for a slow cooker. First, I mixed the onion, apples (chunked instead of rings), 1/2 cup dried chopped cherries, and two stalks celery with 1 teaspoon cinnamon, ¼ teaspoon nutmeg, and 2 Tablespoons brown sugar. Next, I layered the sweet potatoes at the bottom of the slow cooker and lightly sprinkled them with some more cinnamon and brown sugar. I poured half of the first mixture over the potatoes. Salt and pepper pork on both sides and lay atop the apple/onion/cherry/celery mixture in the slow cooker. I poured the remainder of the apple/onion/cherry/celery mixture on the top of the pork. Finally, I dumped about 1 cup of apple cider over the contents of the slow cooker and cooked on low for about 6-7hours. This assembly took only 15minutes and I had an amazing, juicy dinner that was perfect with a huge hunk of challah bread from the local bakery to soak up the sweet/savory juice. My mom was shocked that she had arrived at my house after a 6hour drive before me since I had work until 7pm, and at 7:30 I had such an awesome dinner on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily.c.craggs@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Wonderful blend of flavors in this recipe! Culled some suggestions from other reviews such as omitting some of the pepper and adding some cinnamon and loved the way it all came together. My family thinks it is a winnner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was so good, even my fiance who doesn't like sweet potatoes ate it up. Here are the changes I made: 1) I placed the chops in a glass 9 x 13 dish 2) I cooked the whole sweet potatoes in the microwave (after washing and poking holes) for about 4 minutes, then peeled the skin off and chopped 3) I only used 1 onion 4) I put the sweet potato, onion, and apple in a big bowl and mixed it with the brown sugar, a small bit of pepper, and a few good grinds of sea salt. The aroma of this cooking was amazing. This was a great dish for the first day of fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this in the crock pot, and layered the ingredients. I also added about a half teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
5 stars when you tweak it a little to make it your own! I will definitely make this again. I followed the recipe pretty closely the first time, though I did take the suggestion to nuke the sweet potaotes about 2.5 minutes and toss the apples, potatoes and onion (I only used about 1/2 an onion since that's all I had room for) with the seasoning before adding to the skillet. The pepper was too much, so I'd cut back on that next time down to about 1 tsp total and I wanted more of the brown sugar flavor so I'll add more of that next time, and maybe a little more seasoning (garlic, etc.) on the pork chops. Otherwise YUMMY! It was nice to have something a little different, and the potatoes were SO nice and tasty coming right out of the oven. It makes a lot of its own juice, and I just drizzled a little of that over the top of everything for some of the sweet flavor. The apples are great in this. I used one gala and one granny smith. Definitely cut them a little thicker so they don't just turn to mush - they're perfect with the pork. Hubby wasn't thrilled with the onion in this dish, he liked the focus on the sweet and didn't think they meshed so we'll leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Almost 5 stars, but not quite. The flavours of the onions, potatoes and apples were fantastic, but the pork chops were bland and overcooked (even though I took them out after 45 minutes). I also cut the amount of salt and pepper in half because I knew that would be too much. I will definitely make again, but with a few changes. Next time, I'll season the pork with some herbs and/or spices as well as the salt and pepper. I'll also take the pork chops out after 30-35 minutes and cover then with foil to keep them warm and then put everything else back in to cook for another 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I used a pork tenderloin in a casserole dish. I cut the potatoes into about 1/2 inch slices and microwaved about 3 minutes first. Put the sweet potatoes, apples and onions (only used one and that was plenty!) on top. I think more apples would have been good. Didn't taste the brown sugar at all, very subtle. So if you want it to taste sweeter, add more. My 2-year old ate and ate and ate. He really loved it. My husband liked it too. I cooked it at 425 for about 30 minutes covered and then another 5 or so uncovered. Everything was perfectly cooked. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States