Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I took the advice of another reviewer and dumped all of these ingredients in the crockpot. I cooked it on low for 6 1/2 hours. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Simple to make and delicious. I use a casserole dish and follow another reviewers advice and layer sweet potatoes, then onion, apple, pork, onion, and apple. Also I use honey instead of brown sugar. Just plain delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
fantastically yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very good recipe. I did as others suggested and microwaved the sweet potato first and also mixed together some maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, mustard and the brown sugar and coated the potatoes and apples in it. I also kept the apples a little larger. Then I baked it at 345 degrees for 45 minutes. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was dilicious and so, so easy, as well as quick. I made it exactly as written and my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The pork absorbed all the other flavors and was so tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Eh... meat was dry, apples were mushy... not for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
My spouse and I loved this! I tweeked the recipe a little bit, as I like to experiment. I chopped 1 onion, fried 1/2 way then added a little margarine & water then added my pork chops (until 1/2 done, recommend it for speedy cook time.) and sprinkled pepper, salt and rosemary. Chopped and thinly sliced my sweet potatoes and microwaved them for 2 mins. ( I recommend this as it helps w/ the cooking time) I then got my 2 qt casserole dish and sprayed it w/ non-stick cooking spray, added a little water to the bottom just to cover it (made the pork chops juicy and tender Mmm) preheated the oven to 375 then put in about 7 pieces of onion from the frying pan, then added the 4 pork chops, then layered the sweet potatoes on top, then topped with the 2 apples (peeled, cored and thick sliced; thick slice them as they cook very fast and will be mushy otherwise) topped with brownsugar, cinnamon, and maple syrup. I found this was perfect..I am glad I didnt use the recommended p & s, or the extra onion. Would have been toooooo much. The Rosemary (which I have a love affair with) was a perfect added touch!! I let it cook for about an hour, let it cool for 10 minutes and it was amazing. Lots of flavour and is Def. a keeper and will be having it on a regular basis. :) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTracey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great recipe!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I had high hopes for this dish, but it did not turn out well. The pork was over cooked, the vegetables were undercooked and the apples were the only thing that turned out well. While I liked the flavors together, the pork didn't absorb any of the flavors from the pan drippings and ultimately I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Made this in the slow cooker like first comment on page. It was a little sweet and cooking it on high for six hours made it too mushy. Next time we'll try cooking it on high for only 4 hours. I also sprinkled a little nutmeg on the top and, when it was all done, I put sage on the potato/apple mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States