Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I wasn't sure how the onion would go with the sweet potatoes and apples, but the flavors combine beautifully. I did however, cut back to just one onion. I think if you just salt and pepper the pork chops as you normally would and omit the pepper on top of the casserole you will have enough seasoning. I had to leave my casserole unattended for about an hour and a half, so I cut the oven temperature back to 350. The apples were a little overdone, but I can't fault the recipe for that. This is a great fall flavor combo and I'm looking forward to having it again when I don't have to fool with the time and temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My family loved the combination of flavors this had. I didn't add the pepper and salt on the top and that was fine. The pork was a bit dry, so next time I'd try cooking it in a Dutch Oven or a crockpot. I did have to turn the sweet potatoes frequently so it didn't dry out. I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Absolutely delicious!!! All the flavors are unique and not for everyone, but if you're curious, then go ahead and make a batch!!! I was skeptical at first but you should try it at least once. I held back 1 sweet potato and 1 onion thinking there was enough but I was mistaken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLBLACKMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I cooked this in the crockpot on low for about 5 hours. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers by using less pepper and zapping the potatoes in the microwave. We also added a little cinnamon to the mix which was quite tasty. The only other change I would recommend is maybe a little less onion. It was just a little too much for us. Otherwise this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made this meal for my hubby. He and I loved it! Simple and easy, just what a mother of a 9 month old needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe was ok, I didnt like the taste the apples left on the sweet potatoes. The pork chops were good but if I made this again I would cook the sweet potatoes seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I did this one in my slow cooker as well and it turned out great. I took advice from a few others and put the sweet potatoes on the bottom. I fried the onions and browned the pork chops in olive oil. I layered half the onions and apples (sliced thick) on the potatoes and sprinkled them with brown sugar and cinnimon. Then placed the pork chops and then the rest of the onions and apples sprinkled with more brown sugar/cinnimon. My house smelled like baked apple pie all afternoon. The pork chops were so tender they fell apart, and were very flavorful with the apples and onions. The sweet potatoes cooked down to almost nothing so I did have to make a rice side dish to have with it. But all in all it was a great dish and I will definatly try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was great. I made it just for my 8-year-old son and me, so I cut the recipe in half. Next time I make it, I'll make the whole recipe for leftovers the next day. It was simple, quick and easy to prepare. Then I just put it in the oven, set the timer for an hour, and it was ready... a complete and healthy meal. The pork chops were tender, even though they were rather thin. I was a little heavy-handed with the brown sugar, and some of the pieces of cooked apples and sweet potatoes were a bit gooey/chewey... in a really good way! Also, I added half of the ground pepper the recipe called for, in the form of freshly ground mixed peppercorns. I will make this again! kristikim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States