Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I'm really surprised that this recipe has received as many positive reviews as it has. I was very disappointed with this dish. I reduced the amount of curry quite a bit, but the curry flavor was still really overpowering, and in my opinion, it didn't blend well with the sweetness of the applesauce. The pork chops also turned out really dry. I definitely won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I really just picked this out for my boyfriend because he loves pork chops with applesauce, and I do not like applesauce, but this recipe was very good. It was not sweet like I thought it would be. The curry was very interesting and a great ingredient to balance out the with the applesauce. I enjoyed the amount of sauce because it completely covered the pork chops in the dish as they were baking, although we did throw out a good bit of it after we ate. The pork chops were slightly overdone at 40 mins, so watch your cook times (and my pork chops were thicker than one inch). Will definitely make this again. May use a little more garlic next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Excellent! Very tasty and easy to make. I only used 1 1/2 Tbl. curry powder since I was cooking for picky boys, and they loved it. I also used 1 cup apple juice and 1 cup chicken stock rather than 2 cups apple juice and the bouillon to reduce the salt. Came out great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIGIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Tasted good but I found that the meat did not get really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Great recipe, especially the sauce. The pork chops were a little dry, so I will try this in the crock pot or cook them a little longer at a lower temperature the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This recipe was fantastic. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I've made this twice now, it has such great flavor! Definitely cut the sauce by half and be careful--curry stains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
this was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was delicious. I took previous reviewers' advice and cut the amount of sauce in half. Also, I didn't have any applesauce on hand, so I used peach preserves; and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This was delicious. Very strong curry flavor but the apple helps keep it on a sane level. :) There was a little more sauce then was necessary but better too much than too little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States