Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Excellent. A little soupy - perhaps a little less liquid would make the sauce more, er, saucy. It did start to thicken by the end, but I also had thinner pork loin chops that were done sooner. I used the suggestion of 1 cup apple juice and 1 cup low sodium chicken broth instead of bullion granules. But that is the same amount of liquid, so I don't think that made it so soupy. The taste was wonderful - I might cut down the curry just a bit, but my husband loved it. I might try to find a sweeter curry blend next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was an excellet recipe! A few of my changes included reducing the curry by half, using aprox. 1/2 cup chicken stock as a deglacie, slicing the chops very thinly before adding them back to the sauce and adding a handfull of dried currants. Served w/ basmati rice and curried chickpeas w/ pita bread. In future, I am considering adding coconut milk to the sauce, it may add a bit of richness to it. This one's going into the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I think that the amount of curry called for in this recipe was WAY too MUCH !!! I even lessened it as others had suggested; however it was very overpowering- to the point where I had to open the windows and doors to my house because even the smell of it cooking was extremely strong. If you love curry this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this exactly to the directions and it did not turn out well at all. I am not sure what I did wrong. I actually had to throw it out unfortunately, which I hate to do. Maybe I was expecting something different from this recipe. In hindsight I don't know if I would want to eat apple sauce with curry, onions, and chicken bullion in it so why would I want it on my pork chops? Sorry for the bad rating but I didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I found this recipe super easy and fast to prep. I don't eat pork but my boyfriend loved it! I made the sauce in a food processor and it turned out great. I didn't use chicken cubes and I used extra garlic. Also, to speed up the cook time throw it in a baking dish with a lid for 20 mins and its done :) Lovely recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
It's my husband's new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was very good! I took into consideration others saying the chops were overcooked and after browning cooked the pork chops at 350 for 35 minutes, they came out perfect... nice and tender. I served them over basmati rice... delicious, picky husband even liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVJANE62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This recipe was great. I forgot to buy the apple juice and apple sauce at the store, so I put an extra apple in a food processor and used for "applesauce" and used a little OJ instead of apple juice. I had no idea if it would turn out, but it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I made this yesterday for lunch, I did not have applesauce, so I added an extra apple. It was awesome, my guests loved it as well!! I can't wait to try it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Landmark, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My somewhat picky family is new to curry, so I wasn't sure what their reaction would be. They loved it! I slightly decreased the butter, and that seemed fine. I also found the cooking time to be a tad long, so I'll have to watch that next time. This is a very saucy dish, so be sure to serve it with rice. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States